Monhegan Island lighthouseThe Commission offers several grants and assists with administering several others on behalf of the National Park Service. 

Historic Preservation Grants Available! Deadline March 25, 2024.

Historic Preservation Grants are 75:25 % matching grants for architectural or archaeological survey or development or pre-development projects. Grants range between $10,000 and $30,000. Eligible properties must be listed in the National Register of Historic Places and eligible applicants are limited to state agencies, county governments, municipal governments, educational institutions, and private non-profit institutions as defined by the Internal Revenue Service.  The source of the funds is the Federal HPF and applications are generally available in the late winter. 

All Historic Preservation Grants are governed by the rules and regulations in the National Park Service Historic Preservation Fund Grant Manual (PDF)

Sample Grant Contract (PDF)

Certified Local Government (CLG) Grants CLG grants are also funded by the Federal money and carry many of the same requirements as the Historic Preservation grants with one important distinction: eligible applicants are limited to the CLG certified communities in Maine. 

New Century Community Grants As state program funds are available, the Commission makes matching grants to eligible non-profit and community based organizations for the restoration or preservation of historic properties listed in the Register.

History of Equal Rights Grant Program (HER) The HER Grant Program will preserve sites related to the struggle to achieve the ideal of equal rights in America. HER Grants are administered by the National Park Service and will fund a broad range of preservation projects for historic sites. They are awarded through a competitive process and do not require a non-Federal match. 

         HER Grant Program

African American Civil Rights Grant Program (AACR) The AACR Grant Program will document, interpret, and preserve sites telling the full story of the long struggle for African American civil rights. The National Park Service administers the grant program and will fund a broad range of preservation projects including survey and inventory, National Register nominations, oral histories and more.

         AACR Grant Program

Maritime Heritage Grants The Grants Program is administered by the National Maritime Heritage Program (NMHP) of the National Park Service in partnership with the Maritime Administration (MarAd). It provides funding for education and preservation projects designed to preserve historic maritime resources and to increase public awareness and appreciation for the maritime heritage of the United States. All grants awarded must be matched on a 1-to-1 basis with non-Federal assets.

Maritime Grants

Save America’s Treasures (SAT) Grants SAT grants provide preservation and/or conservation assistance to nationally significant historic properties and collections. Grants are awarded through a competitive process and require a dollar-for-dollar, non-Federal match. The subject property must be a National Historic Landmark or listed in the Register at the national level of significance.

Save America's Treasures Grants

If you intend to apply for a SAT grant please contact the Commission first to confirm eligibility.

Policy on Letters of Support

Grant making institutions and agencies often require that applications include letters of support from the State Historic Preservation Officer. The Commission will provide such letters for projects it deems worthy, or will comment on a proposed project’s effect under the following conditions:

  1. the request shall be made, preferably by email, at least 15 days before the application deadline;
  2. the applicant shall provide a copy of the grant application that explains the grant request and scope of work;
  3. the applicant shall furnish a draft letter of endorsement that the Commission may modify as it deems appropriate;
  4. the applicant shall indicate to whom the letter should be sent; and,
  5. the comment deadline shall be stated in the request.

The Maine Historic Preservation Commission receives Federal financial assistance for the identification and protection of historic properties; under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the U. S. Department of the Interior prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, or handicap in its federally assisted program.