Maine Climate Council

Take the Survey

We want your input. Take our 2023 public climate survey.

About the Maine Climate Council

On June 26, 2019, Governor Janet Mills and Legislature created the Maine Climate Council, an assembly of scientists, industry leaders, bipartisan local and state officials, and engaged citizens to develop a four-year plan to put Maine on a trajectory to reduce emissions by 45% by 2030 and at least 80% by 2050. The plan was delivered to Governor Mills on December 1, 2020.

    Members of the Maine Climate Council 

    Members of the Maine Climate Council are appointed by Governor Janet Mills.

    • Hannah Pingree, Director of the Governor’s Office of Policy Innovation and the Future
    • Melanie Loyzim, Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Protection
    Members of the State Legislature
    • Representative Christopher Kessler (D)
    • Representative Nathan Carlow (R)
    • Senator Stacy Brenner (D)
    • Senator Matt Harrington (R)
    Members of the Executive Branch, or their designees
    • Amanda Beal, Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry
    • Dan Burgess, Director of the Governor’s Energy Office
    • Judy Camuso, Commissioner of the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
    • Major General Doug Farnham, Commissioner of the Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management
    • Kirsten Figueroa, Commissioner of the Department Administrative and Financial Services
    • Laura Fortman, Commissioner of the Department of Labor
    • Heather Johnson, Commissioner of the Department of Economic and Community Development
    • Patrick Keliher, Commissioner of the Department of Marine Resources
    • Pender Makin, Commissioner of the Department of Education
    • Bruce Van Note, Commissioner of the Department of Transportation
    • Jeanne Lambrew, Commissioner of Department of Health and Human Services
    Members of Quasi-Government Agencies
    • Dan Brennan, Executive Director of the Maine State Housing Authority
    • Michael Stoddard, Executive Director of Efficiency Maine Trust
    Members Representing Environmental Nonprofit Organizations or Foundations
    • Alexander Buck, President, Horizon Foundation
    • Kate Dempsey, Maine State Director for The Nature Conservancy
    Members with Expertise in Climate Change Science
    • Susie Arnold, Marine Scientist, Island Institute
    • Ivan Fernandez, Distinguished Professor at the University of Maine’s Climate Change Institute & School of Forest Resources
    Members with Expertise in Resilience, Climate Change Adaptation, Emergency Management, or Disaster Risk Reduction
    • Amy Landry, Executive Director of the Androscoggin Valley Council of Governments
    • Jay Kamm, Senior Planner, Northern Maine Development Commission
    Other Members
    • Noël Bonam, AARP Maine
    • Jessie Perkins, Executive Director of the Bethel Chamber of Commerce
    • Expert on State’s Energy Sector: Ken Colburn
    • Representative of Maine’s Tribes: Ambassador Maulian Dana, Penobscot Nation
    • Representative of Municipal Government: Gary Lamb, City Manager, City of Hallowell 
    • Representative of Small Business: Daniel Kleban, Owner of Maine Beer Company
    • Representative of Agriculture: Melissa Law, Owner of Bumbleroot Organic Farm in Windham
    • Representative of Building and Construction Trades: Matt Marks, Associated General Contractors of Maine
    • Representative of Manufacturing Industry: Jim Brooks, Environmental Manager for Sappi North America
    • Representative of Marine Fisheries: Bob Baines, Board Member, Maine Lobsterman’s Association
    • Representative of Large Business: Todd Bullen, Vice President of Retail Operations, Hannaford Supermarkets
    • Representative of Labor: Francis Eanes, Executive Director of the Maine Climate Labor Council
    • Representative of Forest Industry: Patrick Strauch, Executive Director of the Maine Forest Products Council
    • Representative of Maine Youth: Amara Ifeji, Maine Environmental Education Association

    Follow the Plan

    Get Involved


    Maine Won't Wait Newsletter 

    Subscribe for Updates


    * indicates required

    Maine Climate Council Meetings

    Meeting Schedule

    Upcoming Meetings

    Maine Climate Council

    Date: Fri, Sep 29 2023 , 9am - 3pm

    Meeting Type: In-Person

    In-Person Meeting Location: Augusta Civic Center

    Contact Name: Molly Siegel
    Contact email:

    Quarterly meeting of the Maine Climate Council.

    Click here for more information.

    A video recording of this meeting will be made available on the Maine Climate Council YouTube channel


    Maine Climate Council Annual Reports


    2022 Annual Report (PDF)


    2021 Annual Report (PDF)


    2020 Annual Report (PDF)