Equity Subcommittee

The Equity Subcommittee of the Maine Climate Council will support ongoing planning and implementation of the state’s climate strategies to ensure shared benefits across diverse populations in Maine.

Co-chairs of the Subcommittee are Ambassador Maulian Dana of the Penobscot Nation and Dr. Gabriela Alcalde of the Sewall Foundation. A full membership list is below. 

The subcommittee built upon a groundbreaking equity analysis of the Maine Climate Council’s climate strategies that took place during the summer of 2020. That analysis, by the Senator George J. Mitchell Center for Sustainability Solutions at the University of Maine, placed an equity lens on the four-year climate action plan, but also identified the need for further focus on ensuring climate equity in Maine as the state seeks to implement climate mitigation and adaptation programs.


Over the past two years, the Equity Subcommittee met to discuss Maine Won’t Wait, the state’s four-year climate action plan, and to make recommendations for ensuring that all Mainers can benefit from climate action. In January 2022, the Equity Subcommittee adopted its interim recommendations for report to the Maine Climate Council.

Following the adoption of its interim recommendations, the subcommittee proposed further consultation with Maine Climate Council working groups to refine and revise their recommendations. In January 2023, the Equity Subcommittee adopted its final recommendations for submission to the Maine Climate Council (PDF)


Subcommittee Membership


Photo of Ambassador Maulian Dana

Ambassador Maulian Bryant

Ambassador Maulian Bryant was appointed by Penobscot Nation Chief Kirk Francis in September 2017. As Ambassador, Ms. Bryant is responsible to act as a representative of the Penobscot Nation and to serve as a liaison for the Nation at the local, state and federal levels of government in order to educate and advocate for policy and laws that impact and protect the Penobscot Nation’s sovereignty, culture, natural resources and the general welfare of the Penobscot people.

Photo of Gabriela Alcalde

Gabriela Alcalde

Gabriela Alcalde is a public health leader with 20+ years of experience and commitment to equity and social justice. Gabriela joined the team of the Sewall Foundation as Executive Director in the summer of 2019 and in this capacity leads the integration of environmental, human and animal health and welfare as the foundation works to center equity and community voices in all of their work and strategies. Prior to joining the Sewall Foundation, Gabriela served as the first Managing Director for Equity and Health at Richmond Memorial Health Foundation (RMHF) and as Vice-President for Policy and Program at the Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky. Gabriela has worked in the philanthropic, academic, government, nonprofit and grassroots sectors throughout her career and served in various volunteer capacities to promote equity.

Maine Legislators
Senator Craig Hickman, D-Winthrop
Senator Jeffrey Timberlake, R-Androscoggin
Representative Tom Martin, R-Greene*
Representative Rachel Talbot Ross, D-Portland
Becca Boulos, Maine Public Health Association; Maine Climate Council Community Resilience Planning, Public Health, and Emergency Management Working Group
Curt Brown, Ready Seafood
Shanna Cox, Lewiston Auburn Chamber of Commerce*
Lesley Fernow, Central Hall Commons
Steve Golieb, Maine Climate Council; Town Councilor for the Town of Millinocket
Corey Hinton, Drummond Woodsum*
Amara Ifeji, Maine Environmental Education Association
Melissa Law, Maine Climate Council; Owner of Bumbleroot Organic Farm*
Nick Battista, Island Institute (replaced Suzanne MacDonald)
Matt Marks, Maine Climate Council; Executive Director of the Associated General Contractors of Maine
Gabe McPhail, Community Resilience Consultant, Vinalhaven
Fortunat Mueller, Revision Energy
Jason Parent, Aroostook County Action Program
Ambureen Rana, Maine Equal Justice*
Darren Ranco, University of Maine
Isaiah Reid, University of Maine at Farmington Student; Permanent Commission on the Status of Racial, Indigenous and Maine Tribal Populations
Jonathan Rubin, University of Maine
Matt Schlobohm, Maine Climate Council; Executive Director of the Maine AFL-CIO
Adelaide Taylor, Revision Energy
Claudette Townsend, Dead River
Ania Wright, Maine Climate Council Representative of Maine Youth; Sierra Club Maine
*former members