Gambling Control Board Members

The five members of the Gambling Control Board are appointed by the Governor of Maine to serve three years terms. At least 4 members of the board must have training or experience in at least one of the following fields: corporate finance, economics, law, accounting, law enforcement, computer science or the gambling industry. One member must have experience in the Harness racing industry. Appointees to the Board must also be reviewed and confirmed by the Veterans and Legal Affairs Joint Standing Committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over gambling matters. The chair of the board is appointed by the Governor.

Members of the Gambling Control Board:

Chair Timothy Doyle: Mr. Doyle is a resident of Turner and retired in 2008 from the Maine State Police after having attained the rank of Major, responsible for State Police Operations. Assignments while in the State Police included staffing the original Gambling Control Board in 2004 and with assisting in the development of the original rules, regulations, and processes for slot machine gambling. Mr. Doyle has been active in the Town of Greene, having served on various boards and committees, including five terms on the Board of Selectmen. Mr. Doyle is currently employed as the Vice President of the Maine Motor Transport Association (MMTA) in Augusta and is Chair of the Gambling Control Board. A pioneer for casino gaming in Maine, Tim staffed the initial 2004 Gambling Control Unit and was instrumental in the development of the original rules and regulations.

Barbara Dresser: Ms. Dresser is a resident of Saco and is an associate attorney with the firm of Jones & Warren, P.A. She received her B.S. in Business Administration from Lyndon State College in 1998 and her J.D. from the University of Maine School of Law in 2001. Ms. Dresser served as a member of the Maine Harness Racing Commission from 2010 - 2016, and named Chair from 2013-2016.

Robert Harmon,CPA: Mr. Harmon of Raymond is a retired bank president & ceo of a Maine based community bank. Mr. Harmon graduated from SMCC and the University of Massachusetts- Amherst. Mr. Harmon has been active in many non-profit, town and local boards. He currently serves on the Board of Dirigo Health.

Greg McNeal: Mr. McNeal of Fairfield Center, retired from the United States Marine Corps in the summer of 1996. Mr. McNeal and his wife Stephanie moved back to Maine, in that same year, and settled in the town of Fairfield Center. In December 2016, Mr. McNeal retired as the Chief Technology Officer for the State of Maine. Mr. McNeal has an extensive background in computer science and has served in numerous leadership positions both as a Marine Corp Officer and as a State of Maine employee for the past fifteen years. Mr. McNeal is active in his town of Fairfield, serving as the Vice Chair on the town's planning board and as a past member of the town's budget review committee. Mr. McNeal is also a member of the ConnectMe Authority and the current Chair of the InforMe Board. Mr. McNeal is a graduate of Thomas College in Waterville, Maine with a degree in computer science.

Alfred R. Skolfield: Ret. Col. Skolfield of Winthrop, was born and raised in Corinth, Maine. Attended East Corinth Academy, taking several college courses at University of Maine in Orono. In 1973 he entered the Maine State Police Academy, and was assigned as a rural patrol trooper. He worked his way through the ranks to Colonel and Chief of the State Police.He was then appointed by Governor King to be the Commissioner of Public Safety, and confirmed by the Legislature where he served until his retirement. After retiring from state service, Ret. Col. Skolfield gained employment with Pottle' s Transportation, where he is still employed on a part time basis. As Pottle' s representative, he currently serves as Chairman of the MMTA Workers Comp Trust, and have been active on many boards and committees in communities in which he has resided.