Maine Semiquincentennial Commission

The Maine Semiquincentennial Commission was established in state law in 2023. Housed within the Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Chapter Resolve 126 states the Commission “shall develop and coordinate the commemoration of the 250th anniversary of the founding of the United States of America, referred to in this resolve as "the commemoration," through educational and historical events, activities and programs throughout the State.” Read the full authorizing legislation.

Appointed members of the Maine Semiquincentennial Commission are:

  • Ekhlas Ahmed, Co-Director of Cultural Alliance of Maine
  • Shenna Bellows, Maine Secretary of State
  • Kelli A. Deveaux, Educator
  • Lori Fisher, Maine State Librarian
  • Bernard Fishman, Director of the Maine State Museum
  • Julia Gray, Executive Director of Wilson Museum
  • Richard LaBelle, Norridgewock Town Manager
  • Abbe Levin, Cultural/Heritage Tourism Contractor
  • Kate McBrien, Maine State Archivist
  • Peter Merrill, Chair of the Maine State Cultural Affairs Council
  • Marcia Minter, Co-Founder & Chief Officer of Strategic Growth and Innovation of Indigo Arts Alliance
  • Kirk Mohney, Director of Maine Historic Preservation Commission
  • Earle Shettleworth, Maine State Historian
  • Robin Talbot, Associate Director of the Stonecoast MFA Program at USM 
  • Governor Janet T. Mills, Ex-Officio Member
  • Senate President Troy Jackson, Ex-Officio Member
  • House Speaker Rachel Talbot Ross, Ex-Officio Member

Maine Semiquincentennial Commission Interested Parties List
This list delivers information on public meetings and other activities relating to the work of the Maine Semiquincentennial Commission. To Subscribe, please email Maricor DelaTorre at with the subject "Maine Semiquincentennial Commission Interested Parties List."