Application and Fees

Covid-19 Message(s) regarding Certification in Maine

  • Because we are not able to guarantee that someone will be available to assist you in person, we encourage you to utilize the online application.
  • We have been notified that IdentoGO locations in Augusta and Portland are the only locations open now in Maine due to COVID-19.  There will also by no mobile weekend sites.  IdentoGO is making contact with all applicants affected in an effort to reschedule.

All Applications can be completed online through our Maine Educator Information System (MEIS).  For instructions on how to apply, please see the resource documents below.

How to Prepare to Apply

  • If applying for an endorsement, please be familiar with each endorsement code.  Those can be found under "Certification Requirements" on the left hand side of the page.  It is that page where you can also find information regarding the differences between qualifying for a Conditional Certificate and a Professional Certificate.
  • If you have sent in transcripts previously, they do not need to be sent in again unless you have updated or new transcripts.  We can only accept official transcripts and will accept those in PDF form uploaded through the application process.
  • All other documentation such as test scores, contact hours, etc. can also be uploaded as PDF documents during the application process. 

Transcripts and Documentation

Upload only official college transcripts. The transcript must show your degree and date conferred, Social Security number (when possible), all courses for which you have received credit, the registrar’s signature and the embossed seal. We cannot accept copies of transcripts or computer generated grade reports.

If you have transcripts from colleges outside the United States, you must submit a foreign transcript evaluation completed by a company who is a current member of NACES as shown on their website (www.naces.org/members.html). All transcripts and degrees must be from an accredited college, whether the college is inside or outside the USA.

Note for Career and Technical Education teachers & school nurses: You must send a resume of paid work experience related to your endorsement area. The resume must include dates, number of years/weeks in the position and descriptions of work experience.

Additional Documentation

  • If you hold certification in another state, submit a copy of your out-of-state teacher certificate.
  • If related to the type of certification for which you're applying, you may enclose a copy of your:
    • Maine Registered Nurse license
    • Driver's license and driver education license issued by the Secretary of State
    • Nationally Certified School Psychologist (NCSP) or Maine psychologist license

Non-Refundable Fees

 

Initial Application

Additional Endorsements

Renewal Application

Lapsed Certificate Reinstatement

Lapsed Additional Endorsements

Administrator

$200

$200

$200

$200

$200

Specialist

$100

$100

$100

$100

$100

Teacher

$100

$35 each additional endorsement

$100 for all endorsements being renewed at one time

$100

$35 each additional endorsement

Education Technician

$25

N/A

$25

$25

N/A

Positions only needing fingerprint clearance (CHRC)

$15

N/A

$15

N/A

N/A

Examination & Testing Scores

To register for examinations, contact the Educational Testing Service.

If you have taken and passed the appropriate assessments, please include score results (a copy is fine) with your application package even if it is stated that they were sent directly from ETS.

Qualifying Scores for Praxis I/Core Academic Skills for Educators

For certification areas requiring a bachelor’s degree:

  • Reading: 156
  • Writing: 162
  • Mathematics: 150

Applicants for initial teacher certification must achieve a composite score of 468 on the three sections of the Praxis I, with no single score on any section being more than three points lower than the required score above.

For career and technical education certification:

  • Reading: 153
  • Writing: 156
  • Mathematics: 147

Applicants for initial teacher certification must achieve a composite score of 456 on the three sections of the Praxis I, with no single score on any section being more than three points lower than the required score above.

 

Additional Helpful Information

  • A maximum of six semester hours of course requirements may be met through CLEP Exam(s) with a minimum score of 60 on subject examinations for courses not already taken.
  • A course requirement may be met through a two-year community college, if a minimum grade of "C-" was received for the course and the specific course is part of an articulation agreement with a four-year accredited college or university. The articulation agreement would state that the specific course would be accepted as a transfer credit toward a bachelor's degree at the four-year college. The certification candidate is responsible for providing the Department with documentation meeting the criteria.
  • Student teaching may be waived upon documentation of one school year of successful credentialed teaching in Maine in the endorsement area. (Working under a Conditional Certificate qualifies)