DHHS → MeCDC → Environmental and Community Health → EOHP → Childhood Lead Poisoning →Providers →In-Office Blood Lead Testing
In-Office Blood Lead Testing
As of November 5, 2012, Maine law allows approved providers to perform in-office blood lead testing of children under age 6 years using a CLIA-waived, direct-read blood lead analyzer and to electronically report all test results to the Maine Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program. (Read the rules related to the law. )
- The intent of the law is to increase blood lead testing of children under age 6 years.
- Currently, the only CLIA-waived, in-office, direct-read blood lead testing device is the LeadCare II , made by Magellan Diagnostics.
- Providers must have approval from the Maine Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program before they can begin in-office testing. The purpose of the approval is to ensure 1) that in-office blood lead testing will remove barriers to testing; and, 2) that providers using in-office testing will be able to have complete, timely, and electronic reporting of all test results directly to Maine Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program.
- All elevated blood lead levels still require a venous confirmation through the State Health and Environmental Testing Laboratory. See our Capillary Lead Test Confirmation Schedule for more information.
- For questions about the law, approval process, or data reporting requirements, contact: Sandra Dempsey, Nurse Education Consultant, Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Unit, 207-287-8671 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Get information about provider approval: criteria, application process, etc.
Read about data reporting requirements for in-office blood lead testing.