Our mission at Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention is to develop and deliver services to preserve, protect and promote the health and well-being of the citizens of Maine.
On this page:
- Lead information for property owners, landlords, and renters
- Lead information for homeowners
- Radiation testing
- Subsurface wastewater
- Well water quality
- Water testing
- Carbon monoxide and smoke detector law (pdf*)
- Prevent carbon monoxide poisoning:
- Have your heating system, water heater and any other gas, oil, or coal burning appliances serviced by a qualified technician every year.
- Don't use a gas-powered generator, charcoal grill, camp stove, or other gas or charcoal-burning device inside your home, basement, or garage or near a window or door.
- Generators should be placed outdoors in a well-ventilated location more than 15 feet from your home when running – 20 to 25 feet is best. Plan ahead to make sure you have long extension cords and an accessible spot to place the generator.
- Don't run a car, truck or any other motor inside a garage or other enclosed space, even if you leave the door open.
- Don't try to heat your house with a gas stove, oven, or clothes dryer.
- Use kerosene heaters in a well-ventilated room, by either keeping doors to other rooms open or keeping a window open at least 1 inch. Use only K-1 grade fuel in kerosene heaters and follow instructions for setting the wick height.
- Keep chimney flue and a window open when burning decorative gas fireplace logs as a heat source.
- Make sure you have a CO detector with a battery back-up in your home near where people sleep. Check or replace the battery when you change the time on your clocks each spring and fall. You can buy an alarm at most hardware stores or stores that sell smoke detectors. By law, all rental units must have a CO alarm—talk to your landlord if you don’t have one in your apartment or rental house.
- Recognize the early symptoms of CO poisoning – headache, nausea, fatigue, shortness of breath.
- If your CO alarm goes off, get out of the building right away and call 911. Seek medical attention by contacting either the Northern New England Poison Center (800-222-1222) or your health care provider if you suspect CO poisoning and are feeling dizzy, light-headed, or nauseous. Stay out of the building until the fire department tells you it is safe.
- Local Health Officers
- Maine Indoor Air Quality Council
- Rights of Tenants in Maine: Unsafe or Unfit Housing