Maine Registry of Certified Nursing Assistants and Direct Care Workers
If you are a CNA trained in a state or jurisdiction other than Maine and you are applying for listing on the Maine Registry of Certified Nursing and Direct Care Workers, you must do the following:
- Complete the CNA application online or send us the completed PDF version (click here for ways to send).
- Include with your application a copy of your current photo ID and verification from all state(s) in which you currently hold or have held CNA certification. The name you provide on this application must match EXACTLY the name on your government-issued ID.
Please allow two to four weeks for processing. You will receive an email as soon as your listing is active. Once you have been made active, you will be able to view your listing on the Maine Registry here using either your full name OR CNA number.
What is the Certified Nursing Assistant and Direct Care Worker Registry?
The Maine Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) and Direct Care Worker (DCW) Registry lists CNAs who, through training, competency testing, and clinical work experience, are authorized to work as CNAs in the state of Maine. It also lists Direct Care Workers who have been found to have abused, neglected, or misappropriated the property of a person in their care.
The Registry is operated in accordance with 42 CFR §483.156, Registry of nurse aides; 42 CFR §483.152, Requirements for approval of a nurse aide training and competency evaluation program; state statutes 22 MRS§1812-G and 32 MRS §2104; and state rules 10-144 CMR Ch. 128, Certified Nursing Assistant and Direct Care Worker Registry Rule and 02-380 CMR Ch. 5, Regulations Relating to Training Programs and Delegation by Registered Professional Nurses of Selected Nursing Tasks to Certified Nursing Assistants.
Why are Direct Care Workers Placed on the Registry?
In accordance with 22 MRS §1812-G (2-C) and Certified Nursing Assistant and Direct Care Worker Registry Rule 10-144 Ch. 128, the State of Maine must maintain a registry of Direct Care Workers who have criminal convictions in the last ten years and/or substantiated findings of abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of property.
Certified Nursing Assistant Qualifications
You will need to successfully complete an approved 180-hour CNA training course before you can be placed on the CNA Registry. You may also be placed on the Maine CNA Registry if you are able to provide official documentation of formal CNA training that meets Maine’s rule requirements and federal regulations, or (if you qualify) successfully complete the “Non-Traditional CNA Competency Testing Evaluation” testing.
How to Apply for Listing as a Certified Nursing Assistant
You can fill out and submit the Certified Nursing Assistant Application (PDF) with the appropriate documentation attached, as detailed in the application, if you are new CNA applicant, a CNA relocating from another state, or a CNA who has been inactive on the Maine registry for more than two years. You may also apply online.
How to Do a Registry Look-up
The Registry look-up tool allows employers and the public to search for individuals on the Registry by entering their name or certificate number.
How to Renew your Certified Nursing Assistant Certificate
A CNA certificate must be renewed every two years. The Division of Licensing and Certification will send out a renewal form approximately 45 to 60 days prior to the expiration of a current CNA certificate. This form can be filled out and returned to the Division by mail, or you may renew your certificate through the online portal.
Questions? See our Frequently Asked Questions page.
Email to DLRS.CNARegistry@maine.gov;
Fax to 207-287-9325; or
Mail to DLC, c/o CNA Registry, 41 Anthony Ave., Augusta, ME 04333
Notice: To report complaints of abuse, neglect, or misappropriation by a CNA or DCW, please visit the complaint page.