Division of Licensing and Certification
New Online Application and Renewal Option For CNAs
The Maine Registry of Certified Nursing Assistants and Direct Care Workers (aka "the Registry") is pleased to announce the option of Online Application and Renewal processing for Certified Nursing Assistants (CNA's)! You may now apply for listing on the Registry or renew your listing online at your convenience 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. To apply for listing online or to renew online please log in to our website and follow the instruction provided.
Certification Program for Primary Care Tax Credit
Applications for the Primary Care Access Tax Credit Certification Program (Tax Year 2018) are now available. Eligible candidates are encouraged to apply. Awards are made on a first come, first served basis to eligible candidates who submit complete applications with all necessary supporting documentation. Please follow the instructions carefully.
Please note that applications must be sent by mail and must be postmarked during the time-limited submission period of January 15, 2019 through February 15, 2019. Submissions with a postmark before January 15, 2019 or after February 15, 2019 will not be accepted. Please also note that this application is for new applicants only. Applications will be mailed to individuals seeking continued eligibility.
Adopted Rule took effect May 19, 2016
This adopted rule implements a certification program administered by the Department of Health and Human Services in coordination with Maine Revenue Services. Up to 5 eligible primary care professionals will be certified annually by DHHS to receive an income tax credit while the program is in effect. Eligible primary care professionals must have outstanding student loans and make a commitment to practice full time for 5 years in an underserved area of Maine. The statute and rule include definitions, eligibility requirements, the application and selection process, as well as department monitoring, self-reporting and compliance requirements. The statutory language is not repeated in the rule. Refer to the statute for compliance requirements and to these rules that supplement the statute. The intent of the state income tax credit certification program is to provide an incentive to recruit and retain primary care professionals to practice in areas of Maine with an identified shortage of primary health care professionals. The income tax credit program is funded for 5 years.
Printed copies of documents or applications may be available upon request.
Facilities and agencies licensed and regulated by DLC should complete and submit our Medical Facilities - Incident Reporting Form.
Links to Assist
- Hotline Numbers
- DLC Update | November 25, 2019
- Maine maintains information about projects funded by CMPRP funds on the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) website.
- MaineCare portal which shows MaineCare exclusions. Different from Federal list.
- Federal List of Individuals Excluded from Medicaid/MaineCare Participation
- Federal Database - Search payments and gifts to physicians/teaching hospitals by medical product manufacturers.
- Geriatric Mental Health Curriculum (Word)
- Definitions: Types of Facilities
- DLC Organizational Chart (PDF)
- Recalls and Product Safety
- Guidance to Surveyors for Long Term Care Facilities (PDF)
- Licensing Regulations