Consumer Complaints or Questions
Contact the Consumer Protection Division with your question or complaint. Many consumer issues with businesses are resolved through our free and voluntary Consumer Mediation Service, which we can determine whether it would be right for your situation after a brief email exchange or phone call.
(800) 436-2131 – toll free in Maine
Our consumer information and mediation service accepts calls Monday through Thursday, 9:00 – 12:00
Attorney General's Consumer Information and Mediation Service
6 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333
Maine's Lemon Law
Maine's Lemon Law applies to new vehicles in for repair before reaching 18,000 miles. The vehicle must still be covered by the manufacturer's warranty and be less than 3 years old. Contact the Maine Lemon Law Arbitration Program at firstname.lastname@example.org or call the consumer hotline number above.
Thank you for contacting the Office of the Maine Attorney General’s Consumer Information and Mediation Service. The information you provide is kept on file and used to identify trends for enforcement actions as well as forwarded to the Federal Trade Commission.
Although we cannot provide legal advice, your complaint may be one we can offer to mediate through our free, voluntary, non-binding mediation service. If your complaint is one we can mediate, and all parties are willing to participate, one of our mediators will attempt to bring both parties closer to agreement in hopes the complaint will be resolved.
To file a complaint or request mediation, please complete and submit a webform at https://www.maine.gov/ag/consumer/complaints/complaint_form.shtml along with a copy of the contract and any other supporting documents. While our office can help bring people together to discuss a problem, it is your willingness to seek a reasonable solution that achieves results.