Updated November 16, 2021
Where is my Maine Disaster Relief Payment?
Click here to see if you are eligible for and the status of the Maine Disaster Relief Payment.
The Maine Disaster Relief Program was designed by the Legislature and Governor Mills to support Maine people who worked amid the pandemic, to be administered by Maine Revenue Services.
Maine Revenue Services will issue Disaster Relief Payments to eligible Maine citizens from early November 2021 through December 31, 2021. The payment amount will be $285.
The below FAQs provide additional information about eligibility criteria, timing, and other details.
- What is Maine's Disaster Relief Payment?
- Is the Disaster Relief Payment an advance on my taxes?
- Who is eligible for the Disaster Relief Payment?
- I am a self-employed Maine resident. Do I qualify for the Disaster Relief Payment?
- I believe I am eligible to receive a Disaster Relief Payment. How and when can I expect to get my payment?
- My mailing address changed after I filed my income tax return. Will my payment be forwarded to my new address?
- Why are Disaster Relief Payments not being sent until December?
- Will Disaster Relief Payments be subject to offset for other debts I owe? If I owe back taxes, will the State keep my Disaster Relief Payment?
- Are Disaster Relief Payments subject to Maine individual income tax?
- I believe I am eligible for a Disaster Relief Payment, but have not received it. What should I do?
- I was informed by MRS that I am not eligible for a Disaster Relief Payment, but do not agree with the determination.
- I received my Disaster Relief Payment, but it was lost, stolen, or destroyed. How can I get a new one?
- During 2020, I was a "Safe Harbor" resident. Do I qualify for the Disaster Relief Payment?
Disaster Relief Payments (or so-called “hazard payments”) are meant to help Maine citizens offset hardship incurred as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. These Disaster Relief Payments are the result of bipartisan negotiations on the State budget, which Governor Mills signed into law. The budget provides $149.8 million for one-time payments to Mainers who worked during the pandemic.
No. Disaster Relief Payments are not an advance on individual income taxes. They are a payment to eligible Maine citizens to offset expenses incurred as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.
In order to qualify for the Maine COVID-19 disaster relief payment, you must have:
- Filed a Maine individual income tax return as a full-year resident for the 2020 tax year by October 31, 2021. Information included on returns filed after October 31, 2021 will not be considered in determining eligibility for the Disaster Relief Payment.
- Federal adjusted gross income for the 2020 tax year that is less than:
- $150,000 if married filing a joint return or a qualifying widow or widower;
- $112,500 if filing as head of household; or
- $75,000 if single or married filing separately.
- Received wages, salaries, tips, or other taxable employee pay during the 2020 tax year.
- Not been claimed as a dependent on another taxpayer’s income tax return for the 2020 tax year.
Per the law passed by the legislature, business income does not meet the eligibility requirements for payment recipients. Eligible individuals must have received wages, salaries, tips, or other taxable employee pay during the 2020 tax year.
COVID-19 Disaster Relief Payments are meant to offer relief to people who have not yet been offered relief amid the pandemic, and to show support for the working people who continued to show up on the frontlines in the early days of COVID-19. (See question 3 for more information on who is eligible.)
For more information about pandemic relief for those who did not report earned income on their 2020 tax return, such as the self-employed or unemployed:
- Visit the Maine Department of Economic and Community Development FMI about grants, tax relief, and other support offered to Maine businesses and businesspeople amid the pandemic. There are federal resources available as well.
- Visit the Maine Revenue Services FAQ FMI on the exemption of up to $10,200 in unemployment benefits from both federal and state income tax for tax year 2020.
No application is required, and payments will be made automatically to those eligible. Paper checks will be mailed to eligible individuals by December 31, 2021 using the address on file with Maine Revenue Services. Generally, this will be the mailing address from your Maine individual income tax return.
Yes. The U.S. Postal Service will automatically forward your Disaster Relief Payment to your new address. If you would like to update the address on record with Maine Revenue Services, please submit in writing, the date of your request, your name (printed), your social security number, and your signature, as well as proof of the new address (such as an updated photo ID, a utility bill, lease, etc.). Send the request as soon as possible to:
Maine Revenue Services
PO Box 9107
Augusta, ME 04332-9107
For more information on changing your address, email Maine Revenue Services at email@example.com or call at (207) 624-9924.
Eligibility for the Disaster Relief Payment requires an income tax return filing by October 31, 2021. (See question 3 for more information on the deadline.) Payments will be issued beginning in early November – with approximately 100,000 checks sent each week over a period of five to six weeks. Payments will arrive via paper check via the U.S. Postal Service no later than December 31, 2021.
No, Disaster Relief Payments are not subject to setoff against debts owed to Maine Revenue Services or to other State agencies.
Generally, disaster-related payments are not subject to Maine individual income tax, though exceptions do apply. The payment may be subject to federal income tax. To the extent the Disaster Relief Payment is taxable by the Internal Revenue Service and included in your 2021 federal adjusted gross income, you will be able to subtract the amount on your 2021 Maine individual income tax return.
If you have not received a payment by January 31, 2022, you may contact Maine Revenue Services at (207) 624-9924. Proof of eligibility will be required no later than March 31, 2022. If it is determined that you are eligible for the Disaster Relief Payment, a paper check will be mailed to you by June 30, 2022. If it is determined that you are not eligible, notification of such will be issued in writing.
Determination of eligibility for the Disaster Relief Payment is final agency action and is not reviewable pursuant to 36 Maine Revised Statutes § 151.
Contact Maine Revenue Services at (207) 624-9924 to begin the process of reissuing payment.
In order to qualify for the Disaster Relief Payment, you must have filed a Maine individual income tax return as a full-year resident for the 2020 tax year by October 31, 2021.