Resource Guide: CHILDREN’S HEARING AIDS & AUDITORY TRAINERS

Last Updated; June 16, 2016

Dorothy Ames Trust Fund

Key Private Bank
P.O. Box 22042
Albany, NY 12201-2042
Attn: Christine Moughton, Assistant Vice President
1-866-238-8650 (V Toll-free)
(518) 257-8765 (FAX)

Through grants, the fund assists deaf children in New England to purchase hearing aids and hire auditory trainers and to teach them to use their voices as distinguished from sign language. To apply, provide a copy of an audiologist report, a statement of need from parents, an estimate of cost for equipment or services requested, and a copy of the parents most recent, signed tax return.

Howard & Espa Michaud Charitable Trust

30 Skyway Drive
Unit 100
Caribou, ME 04736

Contact Person: Judy DeMerchant
1-800-432-7366(V)
TTY Users Call Maine Relay 711
493-4168 (FAX)
Email: judy.demerchant@maine.gov

This trust is designed to assist “children from the Aroostook County area, with special emphasis on children from the greater Presque Isle area, who are in need of special treatment related to audio disorders or deficiencies." Funds may be used exclusively for the care, treatment and/or furnishing of devices for children with hearing impairments or disorders. All other funding sources must be accessed first.

Insurance Companies are required to provide hearing aid coverage for children up to the age of 18 years (there are a few exceptions).

Contact your insurance company for details. To view the law go to www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/24-A/title24-Asec2762.html

MaineCare

11 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-011
1-800-977-6740 (V)
TTY Users Call Maine Relay 711

MaineCare provides limited coverage on hearing aids for children 21 years of age and under. Contact MaineCare for more details.

Miracle-Ear Children's Foundation

P.O. Box 59261
Minneapolis, MN 55459-0261
1-800-234-5422 (V)

The Miracle-Ear Children's Foundation works in cooperation with local Miracle-Ear Centers nationwide to provide free hearing aids, services and support materials to children age 16 and under whose families do not qualify for public assistance, yet cannot cover the expense of hearing aids. The yearly gross wages required for assistance is under $50,000, and the child must live in the United States. The Miracle-Ear Children's Foundation, a national nonprofit organization headquartered in Plymouth, Minnesota, receives funding from Miracle-Ear, Inc. and through individual donations.

Also see the HEARING AID ASSISTANCE chapter.