About the Maine Department of Labor

Laura A. Fortman, Commissioner
Kimberly Smith, Deputy Commissioner
Samantha Dina, Associate Commissioner

The Maine Department of Labor is established through Title 26 § 1401-A “to achieve the most effective utilization of the employment and training resources in the State by developing and maintaining an accountable state employment and training policy, by ensuring safe working conditions and protection against loss of income and by enhancing the opportunities of individuals to improve their economic status.”
The Department carries out this mission through seven principle units:

  • The Bureau of Employment Services
  • The Bureau of Labor Standards
  • The Bureau of Rehabilitation Services
  • The Bureau of Unemployment Compensation
  • The Center for Workforce Research and Information
  • The Paid Family and Medical Leave Program
  • The State Workforce Board