Moving to Maine
- Area Code: 207
- Demographics & Population
- Maine Statistics
- Elected Officials
- Maine Cities & Counties
- Maine Weather
- Maine Maps
- Maine Media
Links to Maine's newspapers and network TV stations, and public TV and radio.
Getting a Driver's License
If you are moving to Maine and have a valid driver's license from another U.S. state or a Canadian province, you can get a non-REAL ID, non-commercial Maine license by:
- Visiting the Maine motor vehicle office nearest you.
- Providing proof of your physical address in Maine.
- Providing proof of legal presence (the most common documents used are a certified birth certificate or U. S. Passport).
- Providing your Social Security number or evidence that you are not eligible for one.
- Completing a vision screening. You may not be required to take a written and road test.
- Turning in your out-of-state/Canadian license.
- Paying the exam and license fees.
Detailed information on laws, exams and licenses is available in booklet form. The Motorist Handbook and Study Guide (PDF) is for Class C licenses and motorcycles. The Commercial Driver's Manual (PDF) is the guide for CDL licenses. You can obtain these at any branch office.
Converting to a Standard Maine Class C License
If you are converting to a standard class C license there will be a $35.00 application fee plus the $30.00 photo license fee. For further information on converting a standard Class C license, call the License Information unit at the Bureau of Motor Vehicles main office. The telephone number is (207) 624-9000, extension 52114.
Converting to a Maine CDL License
Conversion of a CDL license must be processed by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles Main Office, located at 101 Hospital Street in Augusta. Fees will vary by license class and endorsements. Call the CDL unit at the main office to make arrangements to convert your license. The telephone number is (207) 624-9000, extension 52122.
Maine offers both REAL ID-compliant and non-REAL ID-compliant driver’s licenses. Additional documentation requirements and fees will apply for a REAL ID-compliant license. For further information on REAL ID in Maine, you may visit the Bureau of Motor Vehicles REAL ID webpage or call the License Information unit at the Bureau of Motor Vehicles main office. The telephone number is (207) 624-9000, extension 52114.
You must obtain a new license within 30 days of moving to Maine.
Registering your Vehicle
To register your vehicle in Maine, you will need to start by visiting the town government office where you reside to pay excise tax.
Excise tax is paid yearly when you register your vehicle. This tax goes to the municipality and varies according to the manufacturer’s suggested retail price (MSRP) of your vehicle and the age of your vehicle. The price ranges from $4 to $24 per $1000 of value.
When going to your town office, will need to take along your title. Maine titles vehicles with a model year of 1995 and newer. You will be asked to fill out a title application if necessary and pay all applicable fees. If your vehicle is older than a 1995 model year, the title will not be needed. If you still have a loan on your vehicle, you will need your lienholder’s name and mailing address. You will also need to take your out-of-state registration certificate; your current, dated insurance card; and your current mileage.
Some town offices can complete the registration process, while others cannot. If your town office is unable to complete the registration process, they will instruct you to go to the nearest BMV branch office, where your registration can be completed.
Maine offers various specialty plates for an additional yearly fee. Vanity plates may also be obtained for $25 annually, in addition to the regular registration fee. Check vanity plate availability or order a vanity plate online.
You will not be sent a renewal notice for your registration. It is up to you to remember to renew your registration at the appropriate time by visiting your town office. If you live in a participating town, you may renew your registration online using the Rapid Renewal system.
- Sales tax: 5.5%, lodging & prepared food tax: 8%
- More Tax Information
Top Online Services
- Unclaimed Property Search & Claims
- Birth, Marriage, & Death Record Searches
- Assisted Living Facilities Search
- Burning Permits
- Dog Licensing