Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS)

The Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) is a secure, web-based, nationwide licensing system that allows companies to apply for, update, and renew their license authorities in one or more states conveniently and safely online. NMLS itself does not grant or deny license authority. NMLS began operations on January 2, 2008. Currently, fifty nine state agencies (including the Bureau) and six federal agencies use the system to accept and process license applications and registrations.

The Bureau currently issues the following licenses and registrations through NMLS:

  • Debt Collectors (Including Collection Agencies, Debt Buyers, and Repossession Companies)
  • Loan Brokers (Including Refund Anticipation Loan Facilitators)
  • Money Transmitters
  • Mortgage Loan Originators
  • Payroll Processors
  • Student Loan Servicers
  • Supervised Lenders (Including Payday Lenders and Insurance Premium Finance Companies)

The Bureau anticipates transitioning the following license types to NMLS soon:

  • Check Cashers and Foreign Currency Exchangers
  • Consumer Reporting Agencies
  • Debt Management Service Providers
  • Employee Leasing Companies (PEOs)
  • GAP Waiver Administrators
  • Real Estate Settlement Agencies
  • Residential Real Estate Property Preservation Providers

Please note: as transition dates for other industries become available, they will be published on the Bureau's website HERE.

CLICK HERE For Information About Transitioning To NMLS