First Lady Ann LePage Draws Names for the 2014 Veterans Controlled Moose Hunt

July 10, 2014

For Immediate Release: Thursday, July 10
Contact: Lynn Harvey, Blaine House Director and Executive Assistant to Ann LePage(207) 512-0280

AUGUSTA – Thursday morning, First Lady Ann LePage in partnership with the Bureau of Veterans Services, Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife (IF&W) and Maine Veterans’ Homes, drew 14 names and 5 alternates hunters for this year’s Disabled Veterans’ Controlled Moose Hunt. The drawing was held at the Maine Veteran’s Home in Augusta.

This is the third consecutive year Mrs. LePage has drawn the names for the Disabled Veterans’ Controlled Moose Hunt. “I’m so proud to be asked each year to draw the names for the lottery,” the First Lady said. “This is a unique opportunity for disabled veterans to participate in a Moose hunt and Maine is the only State that offers this type of experience.”

This is fifth year the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife has conducted a controlled Moose hunt in Aroostook County in an effort to regulate the moose population. The overpopulation of moose in Northern Maine destroys valuable crops and is responsible for numerous accidents due of the proximity of the crops to the roads.

Permits are provided by IF&W to the Bureau of Veterans Services to conduct a lottery of veterans who have the free disabled veterans hunting license issued by IF&W. Veterans are able to apply for the lottery, which is drawn at random. This year, 125 veterans applied for the permits from all across Maine. A percentage of permits are identified for out-of-state wounded warriors to participate alongside Maine’s disabled veteran hunters.

A full listing of today’s lottery winners is listed below: 2014 Disabled Veterans’ Controlled Moose Hunt Winners Primary Hunters

  1. Armand J. Frappier, Fairfield
  2. Richard G. Craig, Eastport
  3. Alfred H. Thibeault, Harmony
  4. Joseph T. Aucoin, Topsham
  5. Tommaso L. Tempesta, Turner
  6. Joseph J. Frenchette, Fairfield
  7. Norman L. Boynton, Prospect
  8. Joseph G. Michaud, St. Francis
  9. Gregory J. Struck, Reed Plantation
  10. Charles P. Hamel, Lee
  11. Eugene E. Cramer, Lee
  12. Robert A. McQuillan, III, Winthrop
  13. Rita M. Picard, Stockholm
  14. David F. Morse, Pittston

Alternate Hunters
A. John L. Craig, Masardis
B. Homer W. Clough, Topsfield
C. David P. Cox, Baileyville
D. Bruce R. Smith, Abbot
E. Edson J. Scholz, Vassalboro