Governor Announces Three Nominees to Efficiency Maine Trust Board

February 14, 2014

For Immediate Release: Friday, Feb. 14
Contact: Adrienne Bennett, Press Secretary, 207-287-2531

AUGUSTA – Governor Paul R. LePage announced today three nominations to the Efficiency Maine Trust Board. Efficiency Maine offers Business and Residential Programs to help Mainers make energy improvements and save money.

Nominated by the Governor are: Scott C. Dunning; Lenora Burke; and The Honorable Kenneth C. Fletcher.

“I am confident my nominations will serve the people of Maine well, as the board continues to focus on reducing energy costs in our State,” said the Governor. “High electricity and energy prices are hurting hardworking Mainers and turning businesses away from our state. If we want economic prosperity in Maine, we must work to reduce the cost of electricity and energy for everyone.”

Scott Dunning, a resident of Hampden, is a professor of Electrical Engineering Technology and director of the University of Maine School of Engineering Technology. Throughout his 21-year career at the University of Maine, he has taught a wide range of courses in the areas of electrical engineering and power systems. His primary research interests are in the areas of energy efficiency.

Dr. Dunning became involved with the Association of Energy Engineers in the late 1990s, when he became an instructor for the Certified Energy Manager program. He is a registered Professional Engineer in the State of Maine. He is a senior member and past chair of the Maine Section of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. The Honorable Kenneth Fletcher, a resident of Winslow, worked as the director of the Governor’s Energy Office from 2011 to 2013 to help create policy and identify opportunities to drive down prices so Maine’s private sector is better able to compete and attract investment.

Previously, Fletcher worked in the pulp and paper industry for more than 30 years. Additionally, he worked as a consultant providing managerial and technical expertise to a variety of companies throughout the United States, including Huhtamaki Foodservices, Inc., Madison Paper Corporation and Wausau-Mosinee Paper Corporation. Fletcher has an extensive political background, having served eight years as a State Representative for House District 54. He served as the ranking minority member on the Utilities and Energy Committee, which he was on for eight years.

Lenora Burke, a resident of Brunswick, is the vice president of regional operation at Downeast Energy, where she has worked for nearly 35 years. As a member of the senior leadership group, she is responsible for total operation of six full-service energy locations, the creation of budgets and operational plans and implementation.

Burke worked for C.N. Brown Company as a liaison between suppliers of gasoline and C.N. Brown during the oil embargo in the 1970s, assuring continuity of supply to customers. She developed procedures to assure a team approach to solving the issues during extraordinary time of allocations and long waiting lines at gasoline stations.

Burke has been involved with the Maine Oil Dealers, Brunswick Rotary and Bath/Brunswick Chamber of Commerce for many years.

All nominations are contingent upon Maine Senate confirmation after review by the Joint Standing Committee on Energy, Utilities and Technology.

NOTE OF INTEREST: During the regular session of the 126th Legislature, Governor LePage introduced legislation and has since signed into law a bill focused on reducing the cost of energy for Mainers today. The law provides, for the first time for a state-funded program, rebates for Mainers to invest in affordable heating options. The bill has led to the availability of more than $6 million for advanced heating systems, including heat pumps, wood pellet systems, natural gas systems, energy efficiency projects and advanced oil and propane systems.

For more information about the current program visit: .