Governor LePage Honors the 2013 Outstanding Airman of the Year

April 7, 2013

For Immediate Release: Sunday, April 7
Contact: Adrienne Bennett, Press Secretary (207) 287-2531

AUGUSTA – Today, Governor Paul R. LePage and First Lady Ann M. LePage attended the 2013 Outstanding Airman of the Year ceremony held at the Augusta Armory. The event paid tribute to four Airmen who have demonstrated exemplary service in the Maine Air National Guard.

This year’s Outstanding Airman of the Year Award winner is Senior Airman Sunny H. Pham. Airman Pham is currently deployed overseas, but her sister Airman First Class Nancy Pham accepted the awards on Senior Airman Pham’s behalf.

The Outstanding Airman of the Year Award was established by the Secretary of the Air Force and first awarded in 1970 to honor the most deserving of the Air National Guard’s airmen. This is the highest personal ribbon awarded in the Air Force.

Brigadier General James D. Campbell, the Adjutant General, said “Today’s event was to recognize four amazing individuals who have made the State of Maine very proud. Their dedication to service and outstanding leadership is an example for others to follow and I thank them for their efforts.”

Senior Airman Sunny H. Pham distinguished herself by outstanding achievements as a member of the 265th Combat Communications Squadron, South Portland, Maine. Airman Pham’s dedication to duty, outstanding professionalism, and superior job performance were instrumental in her selection as the Maine Air National Guard Outstanding Airman of the Year. Airman Pham is an extremely valuable team player with a deep commitment and dedication to her unit. She has maintained her positive "can do" attitude, strong work ethic and her high quality of work while continuing to aid her unit’s readiness and as well as volunteering her time in recruiting events and ceremonies.

“My sincerest congratulations and thanks go out to Senior Airman Pham and all the award recipients here today.” said Governor LePage. “You should be very proud of your accomplishments and dedicated service to the State of Maine and the Nation, you have made us proud.”

The event also recognized four more individuals including: Senior Master Sgt. Scott Osgood, First Sergeant of the Year, Master Sgt. Marc Robitaille, Honor Guard Member of the Year, Master Sgt. Jason White, Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year and Technical Sgt. Keith Anderson, Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year.