Governor Meets with Maine Indian Tribal-State Commission

February 8, 2013

For Immediate Release: Friday, Feb. 8
Contact: Adrienne Bennett, Communications Director (207) 287-2531

AUGUSTA – On Thursday, Governor Paul R. LePage met with members of the Maine Indian Tribal-State Commission. The meeting, held at 3 p.m. in the Governor’s Cabinet Room at the State House, gave Commission members an opportunity to speak with the Governor about various issues that affect Maine Tribes and Tribal-State relations.

The Maine Indian Tribal-State Commission is an inter-governmental entity created by the Maine Implementing Act of 1980. Six members are appointed by the State, two by the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, two by the Passamaquoddy Tribe and two by the Penobscot Indian Nation. The twelve appointees select the thirteenth, who serves as the chair. In 2011, Governor LePage nominated two members, John J. Boland and Harold W. Clossey, to the Commission. Last year, Governor LePage nominated Gail Dana-Sacco to fill a State seat.

The Commission meets regularly; however, this is the first time the Commission has met with Executive leadership of the State of Maine as an entire body. Individual Tribes have met with previous governors, and Governor LePage has worked closely with the Tribes to improve relations between the State and Tribes.

In the photo (link below) from left to right:

Linda Raymond, MITSC Commissioner, appointed by the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, Jamie Bissonette Lewey, Chair, MITSC, John Dieffenbacher-Krall, MITSC Executive Director, Governor LePage, Denise Altvater, MITSC Commissioner, appointed by the Passamaquoddy Tribe at Sipayik, Bonnie Newsom, MITSC Commissioner, appointed by the Penobscot Indian Nation, and Gail Dana-Sacco, MITSC Commissioner, appointed by the State of Maine

Related Documents

Maine Indian Tribal-State Commission Photo