Governor LePage Honors State Employees For Exceptional Service At Blaine House Ceremony

December 13, 2012

AUGUSTA – Governor Paul R. LePage honored three dozen State employees today whose commitment to customer-first service and can-do attitudes are improving the service State government is providing to Mainers. At the annual William Twarog Employee Recognition Ceremony at the Blaine House, the Governor honored 36 employees with either a Governor’s Employee or a Manager of the Year Award and thanked each of them personally for their dedication in serving the people of Maine.

While the stories of each winner are different, all were cited by their nominating agencies for their commitment to customer service, strong work ethic and willingness to take on new challenges, all characteristics that Governor LePage says are important to strengthening the culture of cooperation between State government and those it serves.

“I want to thank these exceptional employees for their hard work for the people of Maine and for being ambassadors of an attitude of assistance within their agencies,” the Governor said. “One of my priorities as Governor is to improve the quality of the service the State provides to Maine people and these honorees share and show that commitment. It is an honor to serve our State and these individuals and many of their coworkers demonstrate a great respect for that in their good work each day.”

Among the Manager of the Year Award winners were Paul Bourque, who oversees grounds maintenance of both veterans cemeteries in Augusta as a supervisor at the Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management; Kohl Kanwit, the Director of the Bureau of Public Health at the Department of Marine Resources who has strengthened that agency’s working relationship with Maine’s thriving clam industry; and William Savage, an assistant attorney general who is coordinating the work of drug prosecutors around the state, an important task given the growth especially of prescription drug abuse.

Among the Employee of the Year Award winners were Anne Bills, an environmental specialist who has been instrumental in streamlining key agency functions to enhance service while creating efficiencies when the newly-merged Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry came together; Douglas Robertson, an educations specialist at the Department of Education who helps Maine students prepare for an agricultural career pathway through the integration of career and technical education; and Nate Moulton, a transportation planning division director at the Department of Transportation who has expanded the capabilities of Maine’s Rail Program without adding staff.

The annual William Twarog Awards were created to honor William “Bill” Twarog and his work by recognizing State employees who promote quality services, listen to consumer voices and provide a role model for excellence in management. As part of his own life-long commitment to people with disabilities, Twarog worked for nearly a decade as a Regional Administration in Lewiston for what was, at the time, the Bureau of Mental Retardation. 2012 Honorees

Manager of the Year

Paul Bourque, Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management Darrell Bulmer, Maine Arts Commission Kristi Burns, Department of Labor Susan Connors, Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife Derek Davidson, Public Utilities Commission David Fitts, Department of Administrative and Financial Services Kohl Kanwit, Department of Marine Resources Vern Labbe, Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry Edward Logue, Department of Environmental Protection Matthew Ruel, Department of Public Safety Luke Moir, Department of Transportation Alan Robitaille, Department of Health and Human Services Willian Savage, Attorney General’s Office Valerie Seaberg, Department of Education Marc Theberg, Secretary of State Amanda Woolford, Department of Corrections

Employee of the Year

Craig Barrows, Department of Labor Jeff Bennett, Secretary of State Sara Berry, Department of Health and Human Services Anne Bills, Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry Kristen Colby, Department of Environmental Protection April Collins, Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife Janine “Gina” Collins, Department of Public Safety Paula Cyr, Public Utilities Commission Trisha DeGraaf, Department of Marine Resources Phyllis Gardiner, Attorney General's Office Kerstin Gilg, Maine Arts Commission Jane Gregory, Attorney General’s Office Stephen Lyons, Department of Economic and Community Development Jennifer Merrow, Department of Administrative and Financial Services Nate Moulton, Department of Transportation David Obptande, Department of Professional and Financial Regulation Douglas Robertson, Department of Education Troy Thornton, Department of Corrections Jeremy Tompkins, Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management Desiree Willigar, Department of Audit Ellen Wood, Maine State Library

Photos from the event may be viewed by copying and pasting into your browser the URL

Below there is an audio file of the Governor's remarks.

Related Documents

Governor's Remarks