First Lady Ann LePage Announces Selected Artists for Maine is ME Art Challenge

November 30, 2012

For Immediate Release: Thursday, November 29, 2012
Contact: Adrienne Bennett (207) 287-2531

AUGUSTA – First Lady Ann LePage is announcing the selected artists for the Maine is ME Student Art Challenge. Artwork was submitted by 867 children in grades K-8 throughout Maine. The selected artwork will be featured in the First Lady’s upcoming family-friendly Love.Read.Learn!™ Baby Journal, to be published in partnership with the Barbara Bush Foundation. The journal is a scrapbook-style booklet that promotes literacy and health to Maine families with newborn babies. The baby journal will be provided at no cost to parents of newborns in 2013.

“I would like to extend my sincerest thanks to every child who participated in the Maine is ME art challenge,” said First Lady Ann LePage. “Congratulations to the selected artists. Maine children are enthusiastic and creative and certainly made this a tough decision,” continued the First Lady.

Please join First Lady Ann LePage at two showings of participants’ artwork:

  • December 16, 2012, at the University of New England in the George and Barbara Bush Center from 10 a.m. – noon for a display of student artwork from Androscoggin, Kennebec, Cumberland, York, Sagadahoc and Oxford counties.

  • December 20, 2012, at the Maine Discovery Museum in from 4–6 p.m. for a display of all student artwork from Aroostook, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Hancock, Washington, Lincoln, Waldo, Franklin, Knox and Somerset counties.

Selected artists were chosen based on the use of elements and principles of design, engagement of the viewer and competence and skill in the use of the selected medium.

The following is a list of artists whose work was selected to appear in Maine’s Love.Read.Learn! Baby Journal, which will begin distribution on June 1, 2013:

Olivia Boyle, Peaks Island
Anna Patterson, Cutler
Abby Fitzhenry, Cutler
Mary-Hollie Whitmore, Bradley
Ariana Dyer, Bangor
Autumn Ditzel, Bangor
Kaden Hannan, Bangor
Kaydence Lux, Bangor
Grace Dimik, Portland
Galen Gaze, Brunswick
Devon Roma, Auburn
Hannah Stauffer, Auburn
Emilee Morgan, Sanford
Kevin Duplessie, Caribou
Kelsea Fuller, Westbrook
Eva Jacot-Descombes, Rangeley
Abigail Bennett, Brewer
Mariah Hajduk, Winthrop
Holly Desjardins, Poland
Cade King, Windsor
Andrew Frost, Withrop
Samuel Lattin, Winthrop
Emma Lombardo, Westbrook
Kiara Lantiqua, Belfast
Chloe Lawrence, Hampden
Zoe Olsen, Bucksport
Macey Jordan, Hancock
Ian Gervais, Chelsea
Anna Sheikh, Waterville
Emma Fitzhenry, Cutler
Owen Moore, Gorham

For more information about the Barbara Bush Foundation please contact Elizabeth Hirst at 850-562-5300 or by email at