Governor LePage Swears In New Commissioner and Judicial Reappointments

September 7, 2012

For Immediate Release: Friday, September 07, 2012
Contact: Evan Beal (207) 287-5086

AUGUSTA – Today, Governor Paul LePage swore in eight judicial reappointments as well as Maine’s newest Commissioner of the Department of Labor, Jeanne Paquette. The ceremony was held in the cabinet room of the State House, and included friends, family, state officials, and representatives of the Federal Delegation.

“I am proud to swear in the newest member of this administration and these honorable judges and justices,” said Governor LePage. “I know Commissioner Paquette’s work in her new role will greatly benefit the people of Maine, and our reappointed judges and justices will continue to serve with the honor, integrity, and reason they are known for.”

Paquette, of North Yarmouth, has served in the Department of Labor as Deputy Commissioner from July 2011 until her confirmation as Commissioner. Paquette succeeds Lt. Gen. Robert Winglass, who stepped down to retire after serving for more than a year as commissioner.

“I am honored to be nominated by the Governor and thankful for the support of my colleagues in this process,” said Commissioner Paquette. “We have a great team at the Department, and I look forward to my continued work with them to improve the lives of Mainers. We face many challenges, but I know that we will meet them with determination and innovation.”

Sworn in for reappointment were Justice Donald Alexander of the Supreme Judicial Court; Chief Justice Thomas Humphrey and Justices Jeffrey Hjelm, Thomas Warren, Joyce Wheeler, and Carl Bradford of the Superior Court; and Judges Kevin Stitham and Keith Powers of the District Court. Two new judges appointed to the bench, Dan Billings and John Lucy, as well as reappointment Justice Warren Silver, will be sworn in by Governor LePage on Friday, September 21, 2012.

Related Documents

Governor LePage with MDOL Commissioner Paquette and Former Commissioner Winglass