Governor Recognizes State Employees for Their Dedication to Public Service

December 21, 2011

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, December 21, 2011
Contact: Adrienne Bennett (207) 287-2531

AUGUSTA – Maine State employees and their families gathered at the Blaine House Wednesday for the annual William Twarog Employee Recognition Ceremony. Governor Paul LePage presented awards to nearly two dozen people recognizing their dedication to public service.

“It’s difficult to motivate people to do their work, but what we can do is inspire people to be the best they can be. You all have the ‘can do’ attitude – that’s inspiring – and it’s changing the way people look at government.” Governor LePage told the crowd. “Thank you for all the hard and good work that is being done.”

The Governor presented awards to twenty-three people including Mark Roberts from the Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management. Roberts, a Civil Engineer III, was recognized as Manager of the Year and exemplifies the competencies expected of a project manager and leader. He is especially adept at conserving State and Federal resources and has molded a highly productive engineering team, executing over 5 million dollars worth of projects yearly.

Additionally, Governor LePage made a special presentation to Janis Frost who is a retiree from the Department of Health & Human Services. In a letter to the Governor Frost wrote, “I felt compelled to write to you about a personal situation. I started working for the Dept. of Human Services on November 10, 1975 and continued with the Department until I retired in May 2007. 32 years of dedicated service to the citizens of the State of Maine. I worked as an eligibility specialist most of those years.” The letter continues, “I had received years of service pins at the employee recognition days for 20, 25 and 30 years. Even though they sat in my jewelry box which I was given by my coworkers when I retired they still meant a lot to me as I gave over 30 years to my job. On the night of September 4, 2011( the night that I sat next to my mother's nursing home bed with my dad and the rest of my family while she was dying) my home was broken into and that jewelry box along with another one that was given to me by my great Aunt were stolen. Both boxes were full of my jewelry.”

On Wednesday, the Governor honored Frost with three new longevity pins to replace the ones stolen. A tearful and most appreciative Frost accepted them as she thanked Governor LePage.

The William Twarog Award was created to honor and remember William “Bill” Twarog and his work by annually honoring state employees who promote quality services, listen to consumer voices and provide a role model for excellence in management. William Twarog worked for nearly ten years as a Regional Administrator in Lewiston for what was, at the time, the Bureau of Mental Retardation. Bill’s tenure with BMR was the continuation of a life-long commitment to people with disabilities.

2011 Honorees
Managers of the Year
Andy Giroux, Department of Administrative & Financial Services
Henry Jennings, Department of Agriculture, Food & Rural Resources
Margaret Greenwald, Office of the Attorney General
Katherine Eickenberg, Department of Conservation
Mark Roberts, Department of Defense, Veterans & Emergency Mgt.
Andrew Johnson, Department of Environmental Protection
Paul Courtemanche, Department of Health & Human Services
Curt Johnson, Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife
Everson Stinson, Department of Labor
Heidi Bray, Department of Marine Resources
Lt. William Harwood, Department of Public Safety
Eric Bellavance, Department of the Secretary of State
Mark Alley, Department of Transportation

Employees of the Year
Howard Clary, Department of Administrative & Financial Services
Carol Gauthier, Department of Agriculture, Food & Rural Resources
Arlene Harrison, Office of the Attorney General
Brenda Stevens, Department of Audit
Denice Baron, Department of Defense, Veterans & Emergency Mgt.
Lisa Higgins, Department of Environmental Protection
Jamie Coggeshall, Department of Health & Human Services
Robert Cordes, Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife
Adam Fisher, Department of Labor
Marcy Nelson, Department of Marine Resources
Tracy Poulin, Department of Public Safety
Jessica Pomerleau, Department of the Secretary of State
Phil Kronholm, Department of Transportation

Special Guest
Janis Frost, Retiree, Department of Health & Human Services

Related Documents

Governor LePage delivering remarks at the William Twarog Employee Recognition Ceremony

Governor LePage presenting Mark Roberts with the Manager of the Year Award

Janis Frost accepting her replacement longevity pins from Governor LePage