Governor Announces Appointments to Task Force on Early Postsecondary Education Opportunities

September 19, 2011

For Immediate Release: Monday, September 19, 2011
Contact: Adrienne Bennett (207) 287-2531

Augusta, Maine – Governor Paul LePage announced today that 19 people have been selected to serve on a task force that will make recommendations on expanding early college and other postsecondary education opportunities for high school students.

The Governor appointed 15 of the 19 task force members. They include representatives from higher education; K-12 education; non-profit organizations focused on expanding educational opportunities; and associations representing teachers, principals, superintendents and school board members.

The President of the Maine Senate and the Speaker of the Maine House selected two members each from their own chambers to serve on the task force.

“The members of this task force have agreed to take on important work,” Governor LePage said. “Our students need more options in high school to get a head start on their postsecondary education and gain the skills they need to be successful in the workplace. Maine’s future economic prospects depend upon the state having qualified workers who can help our businesses, both old and new, grow and create jobs.”

The Governor made the following appointments to the task force:

Stephen Bowen, Commissioner of Education

Scott Voisine, Dean of Community Education, University of Maine at Fort Kent, representing the Chancellor of the University of Maine System

Charles Collins, State Director, Early College for ME, representing the President of the Maine Community College System

James Libby, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Business Administration at Thomas College in Waterville, representing private colleges and universities

Susan Hillman, Professor, Department of Education at the University of New England in Biddeford, representing private colleges and universities

Joan Macri, Associate Director, LearningWorks in Lewiston, representing educational opportunity-focused non-profit organizations

Wendy Ault, Executive Director, MELMAC Education Foundation, representing educational opportunity-focused non-profit organizations

Stephen Joyce, Director of Student Aid, Bowdoin College in Brunswick, representing the Maine Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators

Carlena Bean, Director of Admissions, Husson University in Bangor, representing the Maine College Admissions Association

Maureen King, President, Maine School Boards Association

Roger Shaw, Superintendent, AOS 99 of Mars Hill, representing the Maine School Superintendents Association

Fred Woodman, Director, United Technologies Center in Bangor, representing Maine Administrators of Career and Technical Education

Carrie Castonguay, Director, MSAD 61/72 Adult and Community Education of Casco, representing the Maine Adult Education Association

Don Reiter, Principal, Waterville Senior High School, representing the Maine Principals’ Association

Grace Leavitt, Spanish Teacher, Greely High School in Cumberland, representing the Maine Education Association

Senate President Kevin Raye made the following appointments:

Sen. Nancy Sullivan, Democrat of Biddeford
Sen. Brian Langley, Republican of Ellsworth

House Speaker Robert Nutting made the following appointments:

Rep. Joyce Maker, Republican of Calais
Rep. Mary Nelson, Democrat of Falmouth

“I look forward to getting to work and finding out in a comprehensive way what early-college options are already available in our state,” said Commissioner Bowen. “We need to make those options available to more of our students and find a way to grow our early-college offerings.”

Governor LePage formed the 19-member Task Force on Expanding Early Postsecondary Access for High School Students in Maine by executive order. The Task Force is expected to submit a report to the Governor and to the Legislature’s Education Committee by December 1, 2011.