Animal Health

The goal of Animal Health, a unit of the Division of Animal and Plant Health, is to prevent the introduction and spread of contagious diseases among poultry and livestock, promote public health and food safety as it relates to zoonotic disease, to enhance the quality and health of livestock, and to maintain fair practices in the buying and selling of poultry and livestock.

Our objective is disease control through regulation and education. We ensure the health of animals to ensure the public health. We provide technical assistance and law enforcement to control livestock and poultry diseases. Enforcement of permit regulations, prompt diagnosis of disease, surveillance testing programs, a reportable disease list, the accreditation of veterinarians, licensed livestock and poultry dealers and auction sales are key activities. The movement of livestock and pets entering Maine is regulated.

On this page:


News

More Animal Health News +

Close -


Animal Health Resources

Import Information

Dog/Cats

Livestock


Maine Backyard Poultry

5/4/2021 - The NPIP Independent Tester roster is currently full. If you are interested in adding your name to our database for upcoming vacancies, please email your name, contact information and town you are based out of to carolyn.hurwitz@maine.gov. Thank you for supporting the NPIP program in Maine!

Black Bantam. Photo by Sara Dilegge.


Avian Influenza and Resources


Cervid Program

Rules

For Cervid Producers


Rabies Resources


Contact the Animal Health Staff

Contact Name / Topic Area Email Phone
Michele Walsh, State Veterinarian michele.walsh@maine.gov 207-287-7615
Carolyn Hurwitz, Asst. State Veterinarian carolyn.hurwitz@maine.gov 207-592-6698
Rachael Fiske, Asst. State Veterinarian rachael.fiske@maine.gov 207-592-3608
Donna Flint, Poultry Health Technician donna.flint@maine.gov 207-557-4623
Mark Hedrich, Nutrient Management Program mark.hedrich@maine.gov 207-287-7608
Matt Randall, Ag. Compliance Program matthew.randall@maine.gov 207-557-0252
Carol Delaney, Livestock Specialist carol.delaney@maine.gov

207-215-4968

General Questions, Animal Health   207-287-3701
For Importation Permits   207-287-3701
Animal Welfare Questions or Concerns   207-287-3846