Information for Parents of Teens
While your teenager may pass their road test, the parental driving role model continues. As your teenager gains valuable driving experience, ongoing adult supervision and guidance is a key factor in making them safer drivers.
Did you know...
Those under age 18 are subject to Maine's graduated license. For the first 270 days they are prohibited from:
- Driving between 12 a.m. and 5 a.m.
- Driving while using a mobile telephone.
- Carrying passengers other than immediate family members or a foreign exchange student living with the family unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years of age, has held a valid driver's license for two years and is sitting beside the driver.
Violating any of the requirements extends the restrictions, possibly beyond age 18!
Did you know...
All new drivers under age 21 are required to abide by Maine's provisional license requirements for two years from license issuance. Those issued their first license at age 21 or older are issued a provisional license for one year. What does that mean?
If you violate any traffic laws during your provisional license period, your license will be suspended;
- For 30 days on the 1st offense.
- For 180 days on the 2nd offense.
- For 1 year on the 3rd offense.
Longer suspensions are possible depending upon the violation.
Did you know....
- Teens are involved in 3 times as many fatal crashes as all other drivers, based on miles driven.
- Most teens killed in car crashes are not using their safety belts.
- For those under age 21, it is illegal to consume, purchase or transport any alcoholic beverage. You may not drive after consuming any amount of alcohol. Zero tolerance!
- Those under age 18 may not operate a motor vehicle while using a mobile telephone or handheld electronic device.
Tips for Parents
Talk to your new driver - Use this contract as an opportunity to talk to your new driver about the responsibilities that come with driving. Acknowledge this important first step in their passage to adulthood. Identify the corresponding duties that come with this new freedom.
Be sure your vehicle is safe to drive - Safe and responsible driving begins with a safe and reliable vehicle. For your safety and that of your new driver, make sure that the family vehicle is maintained regularly.
Set a good example - Drive the way you want your teen to drive. You will gain your teen's trust and increase your credibility by driving in a responsible manner. Your actions will speak louder than words.
Review insurance requirements - Discuss with your new driver the financial responsibilities of driving a vehicle and in particular the legal requirement of liability insurance for all drivers. Explain that drivers may have a legal and financial responsibility for their driving behavior.