1. Home
  2. » Government
  3. » Branches

Branches of Government

The Maine State Constitution created Maine's government system, with three co-equal branches - the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial branches.

The State of Maine also has three Constitutional Officers (the Secretary of State, the State Treasurer, and the State Attorney General) and one Statutory Officer (the State Auditor).

Executive Branch

Governor Janet T. Mills
The Executive Branch is responsible for execution of the laws created by the legislature and is headed by the Governor. The Governor is elected every four years, and no individual may serve more than two consecutive terms in this office.

Departments of the Executive Branch:

Judicial Branch

Judicial Branch Website
The Judicial Branch is responsible for interpreting the laws and is headed by the Supreme Judicial Court. All judicial officers are appointed by the Governor and serve a term of seven years.

Judicial Branch Departments:

Legislative Branch

Legislative Branch Website
The Legislative Branch is responsible for making the laws and is made up of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate has 35 members who are elected every two years, and the House has 151 members who are also elected every two years.

Legislative Branch Offices: