Superintendent of BFI

Lloyd P. LaFountain III was appointed as the Superintendent of the Bureau of Financial Institutions on May 1, 2005.

Mr. LaFountain is a former member of the Maine House of Representatives (1994-1996) where he represented District 19 (western portion of Biddeford). In 1996, he was elected to the Maine State Senate and represented District 32 (Arundel, Biddeford, Kennebunk and Kennebunkport) for four terms (1996-2004). During his tenure in the Maine State Senate, he served for four terms as the Senate Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Insurance and Financial Services. In addition, he served as a member on the Joint Standing Committee on Judiciary, Joint Standing Committee on State & Local Government and Joint Standing Committee on Labor.

Mr. LaFountain is a member of both the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) and the National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS).

In 1997, he was named a Flemming Fellow by the Center for Policy Alternatives in Washington, DC.

Pursuant to Maine statutory law, Mr. LaFountain is an ex-officio member of the State-Held Trust Committee and both the boards of the Maine Municipal Bond Bank and the Maine Health and Higher Education Facilities Authority.

Prior to his appointment as Superintendent of the Bureau of Financial Institutions, Mr. LaFountain was engaged in the private practice of law from 1988-2005.

Mr. LaFountain received his undergraduate degree from The College of the Holy Cross in 1984 and received a law degree from Suffolk University Law School in 1987.