Governor Janet Mills has issued an Executive Order (PDF) extending the State’s property tax exemption deadline. The order, which took effect yesterday, March 31st, extends the statutory April 1st deadline to either the commitment date of the municipality (the date set each year, usually in July, when the Tax Assessors commit the town’s assessment roll to the Tax Collector to allow for the receipt of payment), or 30 days after the termination of the Governor’s Proclamation of Civil Emergency, whichever comes first. Extending the deadline will allow Maine people more time to apply for the new Homestead Exemption, which provides a reduction of up to $25,000 in the value of an individual’s home for property tax purposes, thereby lowering their property tax burden.
“I hope this extension will help Maine people save money on their property taxes by allowing them additional time to take advantage of recently-enhanced relief measures,” said Governor Mills.
“I applaud the Governor,” said Kirsten Figueroa, Commissioner of the Department of Administrative and Financial Services, of which Maine Revenue Services is a part. “This move will allow Maine people more time to apply for property tax relief, which is even more important during this turbulent time.”
The extended application deadline includes the following property tax exemptions: Property of Institutions and Organizations; Estates of Veterans; Solar and Wind Energy Equipment; Exemption of Homesteads; and Exemption of Business Equipment.
Last year, the Legislature passed, and Governor Mills signed, a law increasing the homestead exemption from $20,000 to $25,000. Maine people may inquire with their Tax Assessors about their respective towns’ commitment date. The Commitment Date is the date set each year when the Tax Assessors commit the town’s assessment roll to the Tax Collector to allow for the receipt of payment.