Governor-elect Mills Selects Jerry Reid as Commissioner of Environmental Protection

Augusta, MAINE – Governor-elect Janet Mills announced today that she will nominate Jerry Reid, Natural Resources Division Chief at the Maine Attorney General’s Office, to serve as the next Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Protection (DEP).

“The Department of Environmental Protection plays a crucial role in safeguarding the air we breathe, the water we drink, and our many other valuable natural resources,” said Governor-elect Mills. “Jerry has worked tirelessly for decades to protect our environment and natural resources through his work in the Attorney General’s office, and I know firsthand from my experience working closely with him that he has the talent and ability to lead this important agency. I look forward to continuing to work with him in the years to come.”

“I’m honored to be Governor-elect Mills’ selection to lead the Department of Environmental Protection,” said Reid. “I have been privileged to work on some of the most important environmental and natural resources issues facing Maine in the Attorney General's Office, and I’m excited by the opportunity to continue that work in a new role.”

Reid has more than two decades of experience in the Maine Attorney General’s Office Natural Resources Division where he has served as Chief since 2007. Reid specializes in matters related to the Clean Air Act, Clean Water Act, hydroelectric licensing, land use law, and environmental litigation. He began working for the Attorney General’s office in 1994 after graduating from law school. Reid, 49, is a graduate of Wesleyan University and the University of Maine School of Law. He lives in Harpswell with his wife and three daughters. If confirmed as commissioner, Reid will lead the Department’s efforts to protect and restore Maine's natural resources and enforce the State's environmental laws.

Reid’s nomination will be considered by the Environmental and Natural Resources Committee and the Maine State Senate.

His nomination is the latest in a series of cabinet announcements by Governor-elect Mills, including Mike Sauschuck to lead DPS, Randy Liberty to lead DOC, Heather Johnson to lead DECD, Pender Makin to lead DOE, Laura Fortman to lead DOL, Jeanne Lambrew to lead DHHS, Kirsten Figueroa to lead DAFS, Judy Camuso to lead MDIFW and Bruce Van Note to lead MaineDOT.