Animal Health

HPAI Risk Assessment for Maine FlocksFlocks, backyard flocks and avian influenza current risk is at a high level.

Last updated: July 1, 2022

Due to another detection of highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI) in Maine in a small, non-commercial group of backyard birds on June 28, Maine Animal Health Officials with the Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry, announced the continuation of their advisory recommending cancellation or postponement of competitions, exhibitions, shows, swaps, or other in-person events encouraging the gathering or comingling of domestic fowl or poultry.

Advisory: The risk for Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza (HPAI) remains high, and bird owners are advised to keep birds indoors to prevent the spread of this disease. The trends observed with past North American HPAI outbreaks are that we often see a reprieve in the summer months. Unfortunately, this is not the pattern observed in the current outbreak. Animal Health Officials in Maine now recommend that all competitions, exhibitions, shows, swaps, or other in-person events encouraging the gathering or comingling of domestic fowl or poultry be postponed until at least 30 days after the last detection of an infected flock in our state. Read full press release.

The goal of Animal Health, a unit of the Division of Animal and Plant Health, is to prevent the introduction and spread of contagious diseases among poultry and livestock, promote public health and food safety as it relates to zoonotic disease, to enhance the quality and health of livestock, and to maintain fair practices in the buying and selling of poultry and livestock.

Our objective is disease control through regulation and education. We ensure the health of animals to ensure the public health. We provide technical assistance and law enforcement to control livestock and poultry diseases. Enforcement of permit regulations, prompt diagnosis of disease, surveillance testing programs, a reportable disease list, the accreditation of veterinarians, licensed livestock and poultry dealers and auction sales are key activities. The movement of livestock and pets entering Maine is regulated.

News

More Animal Health News +

Close -

Trainings / Events


Animal Health Programs


Contact Us

Contact Name / Topic Area Email Phone
Michele Walsh, State Veterinarian michele.walsh@maine.gov 207-287-7615
Carolyn Hurwitz, Asst. State Veterinarian carolyn.hurwitz@maine.gov 207-592-6698
Rachael Fiske, Asst. State Veterinarian rachael.fiske@maine.gov 207-592-3608
Donna Flint, Poultry Health Technician donna.flint@maine.gov 207-557-4623
Mark Hedrich, Nutrient Management Program mark.hedrich@maine.gov 207-287-7608
Matt Randall, Ag. Compliance Program matthew.randall@maine.gov 207-557-0252
Carol Delaney, Livestock Specialist carol.delaney@maine.gov

207-215-4968

General Questions, Animal Health   207-287-3701
For Importation Permits   207-287-3701
Animal Welfare Questions or Concerns   207-287-3846