2012 Holiday Schedule

The 2012 Holiday Schedule is issued under the provisions of Chapter 11 of the State of Maine Civil Service Rules and the Benefit Package for Confidential Employees.

HOLIDAY DAY, DATE OBSERVED
New Year's Day Monday, January 2, 2012
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 16, 2012
Washington's Birthday/President's Day Monday, February 20, 2012
Patriots Day Monday, April 16, 2012
Memorial Day Monday, May 28, 2012
Independence Day Wednesday, July 4, 2012
Labor Day Monday, September 3, 2012
Columbus Day Monday, October 8, 2012
Veterans Day Monday, November 12, 2012
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 22, 2012
Thanksgiving Friday Friday, November 23, 2012
Christmas Day Tuesday, December 25, 2012

 

To be eligible for holiday pay, employee must be in pay status on the normal workday immediately preceding and the normal workday immediately following the day and date on which the holiday is observed.

An employee who is required to work on any of these days will be granted compensatory time off at the mutual convenience of the employer and employee. If the holiday falls on a normal day off, an alternative compensatory day will be granted. Cash payments shall be made only in the instance of departmental policy established in conformance with Chapter 11, Section 1, of State of Maine Civil Service Rules.

For Maine State Government, holidays that fall on Saturday are observed on the preceding Friday, and holidays that fall on Sunday are observed on the following Monday. For calendar year 2012: New Year’s Day (January 1) falls on a Sunday and will be observed on Monday, January 2, 2012; Veterans Day (November 11) falls on a Sunday and will be observed on Monday, November 12, 2012.