2010 Holiday Schedule

The 2010 Holiday Schedule is issued under the provisions of Chapter 11 of the State of Maine Civil Service Rules and the Benefit Package for Confidential Employees.

New Year's Day Friday, January 1, 2010
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 18, 2010
Washington's Birthday/President's Day Monday, February 15, 2010
Patriots Day Monday, April 19, 2010
Memorial Day Monday, May 31, 2010
Independence Day Monday, July 5, 2010
Labor Day Monday, September 6, 2010
Columbus Day Monday, October 11, 2010
Veterans Day Thursday, November 11, 2010
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 25, 2010
Thanksgiving Friday Friday, November 26, 2010
Christmas Day Friday, December 24, 2010
New Year's Day (2011) Friday, December 31, 2010

To be eligible for holiday pay, employee must be in pay status on the normal workday immediately preceding and the normal workday immediately following the day and date on which the holiday is observed.

An employee who is required to work on any of these days will be granted compensatory time off at the mutual convenience of the employer and employee. If the holiday falls on a normal day off, an alternative compensatory day will be granted. Cash payments shall be made only in the instance of departmental policy established in conformance with Chapter 11, Section 1, of State of Maine Civil Service Rules.

For Maine State Government, holidays that fall on Saturday are observed on the preceding Friday, and holidays that fall on Sunday are observed on the following Monday. For calendar year 2010: Independence Day (July 4) falls on a Sunday and will be observed on Monday, July 5; Christmas Day (December 25) falls on a Saturday and will be observed in Friday, December 24. For calendar year 2011, New Year’s Day (January 1) falls on a Saturday and will be observed on Friday, December 31, 2010.