Staff Directory

Employee Title Email Address
Kit Thomson Crossman Acting Executive Director
Barbara Archer Hirsch Commission Counsel
Melody Piper Operations Director
Brittany Munzing Secretary Associate Legal
Chelsey Krechmer Secretary Associate Legal
Jennifer Manzano Ruz Secretary Associate Legal Jennifer
Jane O'Reilly Lead Investigator
Bob Beauchesne Investigator
Alex Brindley  Investigator
Colin Hurd Investigator
Nupur Leva Investigator
Angela Morse Investigator
Intake Intake Questionnaire Materials
Request Information Requests

Organizational Structure

The Commission appointed Kit Thomson Crossman as its Acting Executive Director in August of 2023. The Executive Director appoints and supervises the Commission's staff.

The Commission has four major divisions.


The Administration Division is the division responsible for the effective operation of the office. Responsibilities include all personnel functions along with budget and other fiscal duties. Support is provided to other divisions.

Melody Piper is the Commission's Operations Director, providing assistance with budget, finance, grant contracts, technology, human resources and other areas to assist the Executive Director.  Brittany MunzingChelsey Krechmer and Jennifer Manzano-Ruz are responsible for case processing, and front office support. 


The Investigation Division is responsible for all aspects of case processing from determining whether or not allegations are legally sufficient to constitute a complaint of discrimination within the jurisdiction of the Maine Human Rights Act, to issuing Investigator's Reports which analyze facts and apply the law of discrimination and relevant Court decisions and recommending specific findings to the Commission.

The Commission's Lead Investigator is Jane O'Reilly. The Commission's Investigators are Robert Beauchesne, Alex BrindleyAngela MorseColin Hurd, and Nupur Leva.


This division is responsible for litigation activity as well as providing legal advice to the staff and Commission. The Commission Counsel assures Investigator's Reports are litigation worthy, provides legal opinions, drafts legislation and proposed regulations, litigates cases and advises the Executive Director on contract matters involving governmental agencies and private parties. Barbara Archer Hirsch was appointed as Commission Counsel in September, 2013. 


The Compliance Division is responsible for all settlement efforts of the agency. Lead Investigator Jane O'Reilly oversees Compliance division activities and has direct responsibility for negotiating conciliation agreements after findings of reasonable grounds and conducting both written and on site monitoring of such agreements to insure that terms are met. This division sets overall negotiation strategy, reviews and monitors pre-determination settlement agreements, and facilitates the Commission's Third Party Neutral Mediation Program.

Staff complaint policy.