Employee Title Email Address
Amy Sneirson Executive Director Amy.Sneirson@mhrc.maine.gov
Barbara Archer Hirsch Commission Counsel Barbara.ArcherHirsch@mhrc.maine.gov
Melody Piper Operations Director Melody.Piper@mhrc.maine.gov
Joan Thurman Contract/Grant Specialist Joan.Thurman@mhrc.maine.gov
Alyson Dabbs Paralegal   Alyson.Dabbs@mhrc.maine.gov
Carrie McCarter Paralegal  Carrie.McCarter@mhrc.maine.gov
Brittany Munzing Secretary Associate Legal  Brittany.Munzing@mhrc.maine.gov
Bob Beauchesne Investigator Robert.Beauchesne@mhrc.maine.gov
Alice Neal Investigator Alice.Neal@mhrc.maine.gov
Jane O'Reilly Investigator Jane.OReilly@mhrc.maine.gov
Kit Thomson Crossman Investigator Kit.ThomsonCrossman@mhrc.maine.gov
Alex Brindley  Investigator Alex.Brindley@mhrc.maine.gov
Milo Gitchos Investigator Milo.Gitchos@mhrc.maine.gov
   
OTHER LISTINGS  
Intake Intake Questionnaire Materials Intake@mhrc.maine.gov
Request Information Requests Request@mhrc.maine.gov

Organizational Structure

The Commission appointed Amy M. Sneirson as its Executive Director in December of 2011. The Executive Director appoints and supervises the Commission's staff.

The Commission has four major divisions.

Administration

The Administration Division is the division responsible for the effective operation of the office. Responsibilities include all personnel functions along with budget and other fiscal duties. Support is provided to other divisions.

Melody Piper is the Commission's Operations Director, providing assistance with budget, finance, grant contracts, technology, human resources and other areas to assist the Executive Director. Joan Thurman is the Contract/Grant specialist, assisting with special grants, mediation program, finance, hearings, and case processing. Brittany Munzing is responsible for case processing, and front office support. Paralegal Alyson Dabbs is the Commission's Intake Specialist and CMS Lead.

Investigation

The Investigation Division is responsible for all aspects of case processing from determining whether or not allegations are legally sufficient to constitute a complaint of discrimination within the jurisdiction of the Maine Human Rights Act, to issuing Investigator's Reports which analyze facts and apply the law of discrimination and relevant Court decisions and recommending specific findings to the Commission.

The Commission's Investigators are Robert Beauchesne, Alice NealJane O'Reilly, Alex BrindleyKit Thomson Crossman and Milo Gitchos.  

Legal

This division is responsible for litigation activity as well as providing legal advice to the staff and Commission. The Commission Counsel assures Investigator's Reports are litigation worthy, provides legal opinions, drafts legislation and proposed regulations, litigates cases and advises the Executive Director on contract matters involving governmental agencies and private parties. Barbara Archer Hirsch was appointed as Commission Counsel in September, 2013. Carrie McCarter is the Commission's Paralegal.

Compliance

The Compliance Division is responsible for all settlement efforts of the agency. The Compliance division has direct responsibility for negotiating conciliation agreements after findings of reasonable grounds and conducting both written and on site monitoring of such agreements to insure that terms are met. This division sets overall negotiation strategy, reviews and monitors pre-determination settlement agreements, and facilitates the Commission's Third Party Neutral Mediation Program.

Staff complaint policy.