Members of the Commission are appointed by the Governor for staggered terms of 5 years each. No more than 3 of the members may be of the same political party. The members are subject to review by the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over judiciary and confirmation by the Legislature. The Governor designates one member to be the chair.

Commission Chair Arnold S. Clark

Arnold S. Clark of Calais was appointed by Governor Lepage as Commissioner in September 2011 and later as Commission Chair in August of 2014. He is employed as an attorney at the law firm of Fletcher & Mahar. Before returning to Calais, where he grew up, Arnie practiced law at Friedman Gaythwaite Wolf in Portland, doing catastrophic personal injury defense, insurance coverage, product liability, and complex litigation.

Prior to joining that firm, Arnie had practiced law in Waterville; during this time Arnold also served as Director of Maine Heritage Policy Center’s Center for Constitutional Law. Before that, Arnold served as a law clerk to the Honorable Justice Paul L. Rudman of the Maine Supreme Judicial Court, after teaching at Quinnipiac University School of Law in Connecticut for two years as a visiting associate professor of law. He received his law degree from Quinnipiac in 2000.

Commissioner Deborah Whitworth

Deborah Whitworth of Portland was first appointed as a Commissioner by Governor LePage September 2011 to fill an unexpired term. She was appointed for a full term in August 2012, and reappointed in 2017; her current term ends in August 2022. Deb is owner of HR Studio Group—a human resources consulting firm located in Portland and serving businesses and nonprofits throughout Maine and Seacoast New Hampshire. Deb serves as Director of the Maine State Council of the national Society of Human Resource Management (“SHRM”).

She was honored as 2012 Human Resources Leader of the Year by SHRM Maine State Council. Deb is the co-chair of the Advisory Council for the Maine Development Foundation Maine Employers’ Initiative and also is an instructor at the University of Southern Maine in the Human Resources Certificate Program. She is adjunct faculty with Thomas College.

Prior to being elected as Director of the Maine State Council of the Society for Human Resource Management, she served as President of the largest SHRM chapter in the state—the Human Resources Association of Southern Maine. Deb previously was employed by Mercer, a global human resources firm, Managing Director at Lebel and Harriman, Vice President of Human Resources at the Waldron Group of Companies, and the Regional Human Resources Manager at Central Maine Medical Center.

Deb holds a Bachelors' Degree in Communications from Kent State University in Ohio. She earned her Senior Professional in Human Resources (SPHR) designation from the Human Resources Certification Institute of SHRM in 2002 and was among the first HR professionals in the country to earn her SHRM-SCP (Senior Certified Professional) designation in 2014.

Commissioner Ted Helberg

Ted Helberg of Fairfield was appointed to the Commission by Governor LePage in March of 2016, to fill an expired term that began in August 2015; his term will expire in August 2020. Ted is the Vice President of Human Resources, South Region for Eastern Maine Health Systems. Previously he held similar management-level human resources positions in Maine with Acadia Hospital, Myllykoski North America, Sappi Fine Paper NA, and Avian Farms.

Though he is a Maine native, Ted had gone to school, and worked around the country in human resources positions, before returning home in 1995. Ted is a graduate of Middle Tennessee State University and received a Master's Degree in the Arts from Emporia State University in Kansas.

Commissioner Jefferson Ashby

Jeff Ashby of Presque Isle was appointed to the Commission by Governor Mills in June of 2019, to fill an expired term that began in August 2018; his term will expire in August 2023. As an attorney who was raised in Fort Fairfield, Jeff opened his own firm in Presque Isle in 2018 practicing mostly family law, as well as personal injury and criminal law. Jeff attended Bowdoin College and the University of Maine School of Law, and then returned to the County to practice law with the Harding Law Office in Presque Isle. After 15 years as the Presque Isle manager for Pine Tree Legal Assistance, which provides free civil legal aid to low-income Mainers, Jeff worked for a time as the Director of Compliance and Risk Management for Northern Light Health A.R. Gould Hospital before opening his firm. Jeff has practiced in federal, state and tribal courts, previously served as the Vice Chair on the Board of Visitors of the University of Maine – Presque Isle, and is on the Board of Directors for the Aroostook County Action Program. Proud father of Lillian, Jeff resides in Presque Isle with his wife Desiree and her daughter Delilah.

Commissioner Edward David

Edward David of Farmington was appointed to the Commission by Governor Mills in February of 2020, to fill an expired term that began in August 2019; his term will expire in August of 2024. Ed is an attorney practicing in Farmington, Maine. More information to follow.