Looking for information on renewable products such as Community Solar or Maine Green Power? Click here.
Prior to 2000, your electric utility both generated electricity and delivered it to you on its poles and wires. That year a change in law kept the regulated utility responsible for delivery of electricity (transmission and distribution) but created a deregulated, competitive market for generation. As a result, residential and commercial customers can now choose to buy their electricity from licensed competitive electricity providers (CEPs). Those customers who choose not to shop for their electricity supply receive standard offer service, purchased on their behalf each year by the Maine Public Utilities Commission. The standard offer price changes annually on January 1st.
For more information, please download the Electricity Guide, Competitive Electricity Edition - PDF
In the past few years residential and small commercial customers have seen an increase in competitive retail supply offers from a variety of companies. We offer the following information to help customers understand this market and decide how to proceed. The chart below is a representative sample of providers operating within Maine. For a complete list of competitive providers, please visit the Maine Public Utilities Commission.
Remember, customers who make no choice will continue to receive Standard Offer service.
This table lists competitive offerings for residential and small commercial customers as of October 1, 2021 unless otherwise noted. Prices can change without notice, so we strongly urge you to go to the website or call the company to confirm before signing up.
Products with a higher percentage of electricity generated from renewable resources are noted with a (xx%) after the price showing the percentage of renewable energy included in the product.
|Competitive Electricity Provider||Rate for CMP Customers (¢/kWh)||Rate for Versant (Bangor Hydro) Customers (¢/kWh)||Fixed Rate Term||Early Termination Fee||Telephone|
|Residential and Small Commercial Standard Offer
1/1/21 - 12/31/21
Variable - 24 Month Savings Plan
|9.45 (100%)||9.45 (100%)||15 Months GreenChoice|
|8.97 (100%)||8.97 (100%)||27 Months GreenChoice|
$50 for 12 and 14 Mo.
$100 for 24 Mo.
|10.09 (100%)||9.99 (100%)||12 Months (Green)|
|9.99 (100%)||9.89 (100%)||14 Months (Green)|
|10.19 (100%)||10.09 (100%)||24 Months (Green)|
$110 for 12 mo.
|11.49 (50% Green)||11.29 (50% Green)||12 Months|
|12.79 (50% Green)||11.99 (50% Green)||Variable|
All of these entities have applied for and received a license from the MPUC to sell electricity. The PUC does monitor CEPs for adherence to license conditions and to other applicable state laws, but CEPs are not regulated the way CMP and Versant and other utilities are.
This table contains a summary of terms, and the offerings can change at any time; we strongly recommend that you check the current price and read all terms and conditions prior to signing up for any service.
If you are thinking about choosing a competitive electricity provider (CEP) for your electricity needs, here are six things you need to know before making a decision.
- The Standard Offer price. Receiving electricity service from a CEP will only save you money if its price is lower than the standard offer price. The Maine Public Utilities Commission chooses the best offer submitted in a competitive auction for Central Maine Power and Emera Maine. The standard offer price changes on January 1st each year, with the change typically announced six weeks in advance. There is no contract or termination fee with the standard offer and you are free to switch at any time. You can find the current Standard Offer price in the chart above or on the PUC's website.
- The price offered by a CEP. This is the price you'll compare to the Standard Offer.
- Whether the price fixed or variable. A fixed price contract will have the same cost per kWh for the length of the contract. If the price is variable it can change each month. While a variable rate may offer savings now it could change to a higher price in future months.
- The term of the contract. If the price is fixed, find out for how long, so you know if the term will last beyond the next standard offer price change. Also, ask when the contract will end so you can make a note to review your options before this date.
- Termination Fee. Some CEPs charge a fee if you switch to the standard offer or to another CEP before your contract ends. Make sure you know if the CEP has one of these “termination” fees and how much they will charge before you switch.
- Your rights. CEPs are subject to oversight by the Public Utilities Commission, and there are rules to protect consumers. CEPs must provide you with their “Terms of Service” before you can become their customer, and you may change your mind within 5 days of signing up. CEPs also must notify you of an automatic renewal, or if they switch you to a variable price at the end of a fixed term. Always ask the CEP to confirm if they will be contacting you by mail or email. It is your responsibility to ensure that the CEP has your current and up-to-date contact information.
- A CEP may not terminate service without providing a minimum of 30 days' notice.
- A CEP must offer a minimum of 30 days service.
- A CEP must have a verification of a customer's affirmative choice to obtain service with the company (no "slamming").
- A customer has five days to rescind his or her initial selection of CEP service.
- A CEP may not use unfair or deceptive business practices.
- A CEP may not release private customer information to anyone, unless allowed by law, or by the customer's consent.
- A customer may file a complaint with the Commission if a CEP has used "slamming" practices to obtain customers.
- If a CEP drops a customer, or if the customer seeks to be dropped and makes no other choice, the customer will automatically go back on standard offer service.
- A CEP must notify a customer two times between 30 and 60 days in advance of a contract renewal.
Commission Enforcement Authority
Although the Maine PUC cannot regulate the price of the electricity offered by competitive suppliers, it has the authority to investigate matters relating to service offered by CEPs. Depending on the offending actions of a CEP, the Commission may revoke a CEP's license, issue cease and desist orders, order restitution and levy administrative fines.
Contact the MPUC's Consumer Assistance Hotline at 1-800-452-4699, Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. if you have issues with CEPs.
Maine Public Utilities Commission
Consumer Assistance Division
18 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0018