DHHS → MeCDC → Environmental and Community Health → Health Inspection Program → Tobacco Rules
Tobacco products may not be sold to any person under 21 years of age. Tobacco retailers must not sell tobacco products to anyone under 30 years old without first verifying the customer's age by photo ID. Tobacco products include, but are not limited to, cigarettes, cigars, hookah, pipe tobacco, chewing tobacco, snuff or snus, electronic smoking devices, and any components or accessories used in the consumption of a tobacco product, such as filters, rolling papers, pipes and liquids used in electronic smoking devices, whether or not they contain nicotine.
For free retailer guidance visit: www.preventionforme.org/retailer-workplace. For free online employee training to Block Underage Tobacco Sales (NO BUTS!) visit: www.nobutstraining.com.
Guidance regarding Maine's retail tobacco and workplace smoking laws, contact Devon Cummings, Tobacco Enforcement Coordinator, Office of the Attorney General, at Devon.L.Cummings@maine.gov or (207) 626-8574; or the Maine CDC Tobacco and Substance Use Prevention and Control program at firstname.lastname@example.org or (207) 287-4627.