License and Permit Types

For forms, please see the Applications & Forms page.

DEN – Dentist

  • Description and how to apply +

    Dentist means an individual licensed by this Board who engages in the practice of dentistry. A dentist may also have supervisory responsibilities of individuals who are also licensed by the Board such as dental hygienists, dental hygiene therapists, public health dental hygienists, dental radiographers, and expanded function dental assistants.

    Note: dental assistants are NOT licensed by the Board; however, dentists are authorized to delegate certain services to unlicensed individuals as provided in the Board's authorizing statute - see Title 32, Chapter 143.

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Date of issue through December 31st odd years.
    Requirements
    • A completed application for licensure and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to Treasurer, State of Maine, VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Verification of dental education; and
    • Documentation of successful passage of the required examination(s).
    Endorsement
    • If you are are currently licensed in another state or jurisdiction and are applying for licensure in Maine, you must submit all of the required documentation (as listed above) including information identified in the application instructions.

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • Renews biennially on December 31st odd years.
    Late Renewal
    • Licenses can be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration with payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.
    Reinstatement
    • Licenses cannot be renewed beyond 90 days. A separate Reinstatement application must be filed, along with payment of the required fees.
    Renewal Notice
    • Renewal notices will be emailed to the contact information on file at least 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is required by law that licensees notify the Board of any address or name change within 10 days of the change.
    Requirements
    • Continuing Education: See Board Rules, Chapter 13.
    Renew Now
    • The Board must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before the renewal is processed. Online submission of an application should not be construed as automatic renewal.

MSE – Moderate Level I Sedation Permit

  • Description and how to apply +

    Moderate Sedation Permit - Level I (Enteral): means a permit issued to a dentist to administer moderate sedation at the level permitted in accordance with Chapter 14 of the Board's rules.

    Note: Permits are non-transferable and are site specific

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Date of issue through dentist renewal term.
    Requirements
    • A completed application for licensure and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to Treasurer, State of Maine, VISA or MasterCard, see credit card authorization form);
    • Documentation of fulfilling the educational and training requirements;
    • Documented proof of life support certifications; and
    • Signed Certification Form attesting to meeting the equipment, personnel, procedures, techniques and documents as required.

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • Renews every two years - aligned with dentist renewal term.
    Late Renewal
    • Licenses can be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration with payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.
    Reinstatement
    • Licenses cannot be renewed beyond 90 days. A separate reinstatement application must be filed, along with payment of the required fees.
    Requirements
    • Continuing Education: See Board Rules, Chapter 13.
    Renewal Notice
    • Renewal notices will be emailed to the contact information on file at least 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is required by law that licensees notify the Board of any address or name change within 10 days of the change.
    Renew Now
    • The Board must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before the renewal is processed. Online submission of an application should not be construed as automatic renewal.

MSP – Moderate Level II Sedation Permit

  • Description and how to apply +

    Moderate Sedation Permit - Level II (Parenteral): means a permit issued to a dentist to administer moderate sedation at the level permitted in accordance with Chapter 14 of the Board's rules.

    Note: Permits are non-transferable and are site specific

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Date of issue through dentist renewal term.
    Requirements
    • A completed application for licensure and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to Treasurer, State of Maine, VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Documentation of fulfilling the educational and training requirements;
    • Documented proof of life support certifications; and
    • Signed Certification Form attesting to meeting the equipment, personnel, procedures, techniques and documents as required.

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • Renews every two years - aligned with dentist renewal term.
    Late Renewal
    • Licenses can be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration with payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.
    Reinstatement
    • Licenses cannot be renewed beyond 90 days. A separate reinstatement application must be filed, along with payment of the required fees.
    Requirements
    • Continuing Education: See Board Rules, Chapter 13.
    Renewal Notice
    • Renewal notices will be emailed to the contact information on file at least 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is required by law that licensees notify the Board of any address or name change within 10 days of the change.
    Renew Now
    • The Board must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before the renewal is processed. Online submission of an application should not be construed as automatic renewal.

DSA – Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia Permit

  • Description and how to apply +

    Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia Permit: means a permit issued to a dentist to administer all levels of sedation and general anesthesia in accordance with Chapter 14 of the Board's rules.

    Note: Permits are non-transferable and are site specific

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Date of issue through dentist renewal term.
    Requirements
    • A completed application for licensure and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to Treasurer, State of Maine, VISA or MasterCard, see credit card authorization form);
    • Documentation of fulfilling the educational and training requirements;
    • Documented proof of life support certifications; and
    • Signed Certification Form attesting to meeting the equipment, personnel, procedures, techniques and documents as required.

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • Renews every two years - aligned with dentist renewal term
    Late Renewal
    • Licenses can be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration with payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.
    Reinstatement
    • Licenses cannot be renewed beyond 90 days. A separate reinstatement application must be filed, along with payment of the required fees.
    Requirements
    • Continuing Education: See Board Rules, Chapter 13.
    Renewal Notice
    • Renewal notices will be emailed to the contact information on file at least 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is required by law that licensees notify the Board of any address or name change within 10 days of the change.
    Renew Now
    • The Board must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before the renewal is processed. Online submission of an application should not be construed as automatic renewal.

LTD - Limited Dentist License (Retired)

  • Description and how to apply +

    Limited Dentist means an individual licensed to practice dentistry solely in a nonprofit dental clinic without any remuneration for work performed at the clinic.

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Issued through date of dentist renewal term.
    Requirements
    • A completed application for licensure and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to Treasurer, State of Maine, VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Verification of current or previous dental licenses from other state(s) or Canadian province;
    • Verification of dental education; and
    • Documentation of successful passage of the required examination(s).

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • Renews biennially on December 31st odd years.
    Late Renewal
    • Licenses can be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration with payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.
    Reinstatement
    • Licenses cannot be renewed beyond 90 days. A separate Reinstatement application must be filed, along with payment of the required fees.
    Renewal Notice
    • Renewal notices will be emailed to the contact information on file at least 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is required by law that licensees notify the Board of any address or name change within 10 days of the change.
    Requirements
    • Continuing Education: See Board Rules, Chapter 13.
    Renew Now
    • The Board must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before the renewal is processed. Online submission of an application should not be construed as automatic renewal.

RES - Resident Dentist

  • Description and how to apply +

    Resident dentist permit means a permit issued to an individual who has graduated from a dental educational program to practice dentistry for the purpose of gaining clinical skills under the supervision of a dentist in board approved settings.

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Date of issue through December 31st odd years.
    Requirements
    • A completed application for licensure and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of Maine", VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Letter from the Residency Program to include the following:
      • Description of the residency program
        • Anticipated duration
        • Anticipated clinical procedures to be performed by the dental resident
        • Level of supervision and control of the services to be performed by the dental resident
        • Name of supervising dentist;
    • Verification of dental education; and
    • Documentation of successful passage of the required examination(s).

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • Renews biennially on December 31st odd years.
    Late Renewal
    • Licenses can be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration with payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.
    Reinstatement
    • Licenses cannot be renewed beyond 90 days. A separate Reinstatement application must be filed, along with payment of the required fees.
    Renewal Notice
    • Renewal notices will be emailed to the contact information on file at least 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is required by law that licensees notify the Board of any address or name change within 10 days of the change.
    Requirements
    • Continuing Education: See Board Rules, Chapter 13.
    Renew Now
    • The Board must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before the renewal is processed. Online submission of an application should not be construed as automatic renewal.

RDH – Dental Hygienist

  • Description and how to apply +

    Dental Hygienist means an individual licensed by this Board who engages in the practice of dental hygiene. A dental hygienist practices under the general and direct supervision of a dentist.

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Date of issue through December 31st even years.
    Requirements
    • A completed application for licensure and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of Maine," VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Verification of dental hygiene education; and
    • Documentation of successful passage of the required examination(s).
    Endorsement
    • If you are currently licensed in another state or jurisdiction and are applying for licensure in Maine, you must submit all of the required documentation (as listed above) including information identified in the application instructions.

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • Renews biennially on December 31st even years.
    Late Renewal
    • Licenses can be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration with payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.
    Reinstatement
    • Licenses cannot be renewed beyond 90 days. A separate Reinstatement application must be filed, along with payment of the required fees.
    Renewal Notice
    • Renewal notices will be emailed to the contact information on file at least 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is required by law that licensees notify the Board of any address or name change within 10 days of the change.
    Requirements
    • Continuing Education: See Board Rules, Chapter 13.
    Renew Now
    • The Board must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before the renewal is processed. Online submission of an application should not be construed as automatic renewal.

IPDH – Independent Practice Dental Hygienist - Authority

  • Description and how to apply +

    Independent practice dental hygienist means an individual licensed by this Board is authorized to practice independent dental hygiene. A written practice agreement with a licensed dentist to interpret dental radiographs is required pursuant to the Dental Practice Act and practice standards identified by Board Rules.

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Date of issue through dental hygiene renewal term.
    Requirements
    • A completed application for licensure and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of Maine," VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Licensure as a dental hygienist or qualify for endorsement
    • Verification of education and supervised clinical practice; and
    • Documentation of successful passage of the required examination(s).

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • N/A. Approved authorities will follow the dental hygiene licensure status and will be listed on the dental hygiene license at the time of renewal.
    Late Renewal
    • A dental hygienist who files a late license renewal and is approved by the Board, will automatically have the existing practice authority listed on the renewed dental hygiene license.
    Reinstatement
    • A dental hygienist who does not renew within 90 days, is required to file a dental hygiene reinstatement application/payment of fees, and any applicable practice authority applications/payment of fees to reinstate the license and the practice authority.

PHS – Public Health Dental Hygienist - Authority and Supervision status

  • Description and how to file for status +

    Public health dental hygiene means a dental hygienist licensed by this Board is authorized to practice public health dental hygiene. A written practice agreement with a licensed dentist is required pursuant to the Dental Practice Act and practice standards identified by Board Rules.

    How to Notify the Board

    Requirements
    • Submit a completed Notification form and Standing Orders form to the Board; and
    • Reporting requirements � dental hygienists with public health supervision status must complete a summary report at the completion of each program, provide an annual report for ongoing programs and submit revised standing orders in the event of any changes.

DHT – Dental Hygiene Therapist - Authority

  • Description and how to apply +

    Dental hygiene therapy authority means a dental hygienist licensed by this Board is authorized to practice dental hygiene therapy. A written practice agreement with a licensed dentist is required pursuant to the Dental Practice Act and practice standards identified by Board Rules.

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Date of issue through dental hygiene renewal term.
    Requirements
    • A completed application for licensure and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of Maine", VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Licensure as a dental hygienist; Verification of education and supervised clinical practice;Written practice agreement with a dentist; and
    • Documentation of successful passage of the required examination(s).

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • Renews every two years - aligned with dental hygiene renewal term.
    Late Renewal
    • Authorities can be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration with payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.
    Reinstatement
    • Authorities cannot be renewed beyond 90 days. A separate Reinstatement application must be filed, along with payment of the required fees.
    Renewal Notice
    • Renewal notices will be emailed to the contact information on file at least 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is required by law that licensees notify the Board of any address or name change within 10 days of the change.
    Renew Now
    • The Board must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before the renewal is processed. Online submission of an application should not be construed as automatic renewal.

DHX – Provisional Dental Hygiene Therapist - Authority

  • Description and how to apply +

    Provisional dental hygiene therapy authority means a dental hygienist licensed by this Board is authorized to practice dental hygiene therapy under the direct and general supervision of a licensed dentist for the purposes of gaining the clinical experience requirements needed for the DHT Authority. A written practice agreement with a licensed dentist is required pursuant to the Dental Practice Act and practice standards identified by Board Rules.

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Date of issue through dental hygiene renewal term. Note: can renew once only for a one-year term.
    Requirements
    • A completed application and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of Maine", VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Licensure as a dental hygienist; Verification of education;Written practice agreement with a dentist; and
    • Documentation of successful passage of the required examination(s).

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • Renews one time only for a one-year period.
    Late Renewal
    • Authorities can be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration with payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.
    Reinstatement
    • Authorities cannot be renewed beyond 90 days. A separate Reinstatement application must be filed, along with payment of the required fees.
    Renewal Notice
    • Renewal notices will be emailed to the contact information on file at least 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is required by law that licensees notify the Board of any address or name change within 10 days of the change.
    Renew Now
    • The Board must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before the renewal is processed. Online submission of an application should not be construed as automatic renewal.

NOX – Nitrous Oxide Analgesia - Authority

  • Description and how to apply +

    Nitrous oxide analgesia authority is granted to a qualified Dental Hygienist to administer nitrous oxide analgesia under the direct supervision of a dentist.

    How to Apply

    Term
    • N/A. Approved authorities will follow the dental hygiene licensure status and will be listed on the dental hygiene license.
    Requirements
    • A completed application and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of Maine", VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Verification of nitrous oxide course completion; and
    • Documentation of successful passage of the required examination(s).

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • N/A. Approved authorities will follow the dental hygiene licensure status and will be listed on the dental hygiene license at the time of renewal.
    Late Renewal
    • A dental hygienist who files a late license renewal and is approved by the Board, will automatically have the existing practice authority listed on the renewed dental hygiene license.
    Reinstatement
    • A dental hygienist who does not renew within 90 days, is required to file a dental hygiene reinstatement application/payment of fees, and any applicable practice authority applications/payment of fees to reinstate the license and the practice authority.

LAN – Local Anesthesia - Authority

  • Description and how to apply +

    Local anesthesia authority is granted to a Dental Hygienist to administer local anesthesia under the direct supervision of a dentist.

    How to Apply

    Term
    • N/A. Approved authorities will follow the dental hygiene licensure status and will be listed on the dental hygiene license.
    Requirements
    • A completed application and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of Maine", VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Verification of local anesthesia course completion; and
    • Documentation of successful passage of the required examination(s).

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • N/A. Approved authorities will follow the dental hygiene licensure status and will be listed on the dental hygiene license at the time of renewal.
    Late Renewal
    • A dental hygienist who files a late license renewal and is approved by the Board, will automatically have the existing practice authority listed on the renewed dental hygiene license.
    Reinstatement
    • A dental hygienist who does not renew within 90 days, is required to file a dental hygiene reinstatement application/payment of fees, and any applicable practice authority applications/payment of fees to reinstate the license and the practice authority.

IDP - Itinerant Dentist Sedation Permit Description and how to appl

DTR – Denturist

  • Description and how to apply +

    Denturist means an individual licensed by this Board who engages in the practice of denturism.

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Date of issue through December 31st even years.
    Requirements
    • A completed application for licensure and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of Maine," VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Verification of denturism education; and
    • Documentation of successful passage of the required examination(s).
    Endorsement
    • If you are currently licensed in another state or jurisdiction and are applying for licensure in Maine, you must submit all of the required documentation (as listed above) including information identified in the application instructions.

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • Renews biennially on December 31st even years.
    Late Renewal
    • Licenses can be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration with payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.
    Reinstatement
    • Licenses cannot be renewed beyond 90 days. A separate Reinstatement application must be filed, along with payment of the required fees.
    Renewal Notice
    • Renewal notices will be emailed to the contact information on file at least 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is required by law that licensees notify the Board of any address or name change within 10 days of the change.
    Requirements
    • Continuing Education: See Board Rules, Chapter 13.
    Renew Now
    • The Board must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before the renewal is processed. Online submission of an application should not be construed as automatic renewal.

RAD - Dental Radiographer

  • Description and how to apply +

    Dental radiographer means an individual licensed by this Board to practice dental radiography under the supervision of a dentist or a dental hygienist practicing with an independent practice dental hygiene authority.

    Note: Unlicensed individuals such as dental assistants CANNOT engage in the practice of dental radiography without first obtaining a dental radiography license from the Board.

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Date of issue through December 31st odd years.
    Requirements
    • A completed application for licensure and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of Maine," VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Documentation of successful passage of the dental radiologic technique and safety examination; and
    • Documentation of successful passage of the board's jurisprudence examination.

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • Renews biennially on December 31st odd years.
    Late Renewal
    • Licenses can be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration with payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.
    Reinstatement
    • Licenses cannot be renewed beyond 90 days. A separate Reinstatement application must be filed, along with payment of the required fees.
    Renewal Notice
    • Renewal notices will be emailed to the contact information on file at least 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is required by law that licensees notify the Board of any address or name change within 10 days of the change.
    Requirements
    • Continuing Education: See Board Rules, Chapter 13.
    Renew Now
    • The Board must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before the renewal is processed. Online submission of an application should not be construed as automatic renewal.

Denturist Trainee Registration

EFDA - Expanded Function Dental Assistant

  • Description and how to apply +

    Expanded function dental assistant means an individual licensed by this Board who performs duties under the direct and general supervision of a dentist.

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Date of issue through December 31st even years.
    Requirements
    • A completed application for licensure and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of Maine," VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Verification of either a Certificate in Dental Assisting or current licensure as a dental hygienist;
    • Verification of completion of an EFDA program; and
    • Documentation of successful passage of the required examination(s).
    Endorsement
    • If you are currently licensed in another state or jurisdiction and are applying for licensure in Maine, you must submit all of the required documentation (as listed above) including information identified in the application instructions.

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • Renews biennially on December 31st even years.
    Late Renewal
    • Licenses can be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration with payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.
    Reinstatement
    • Licenses cannot be renewed beyond 90 days. A separate Reinstatement application must be filed, along with payment of the required fees.
    Renewal Notice
    • Renewal notices will be emailed to the contact information on file at least 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is required by law that licensees notify the Board of any address or name change within 10 days of the change.
    Requirements
    • Continuing Education: See Board Rules, Chapter 13.
    Renew Now
    • The Board must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before the renewal is processed. Online submission of an application should not be construed as automatic renewal.

Faculty License (Dentist, Dental Hygienist, Denturist)

  • Description and how to apply +

    A faculty license means a license issued to an individual who teaches dentistry, dental hygiene or denturism as part of a clinical and didactic program and is authorized to practice only within the school setting.

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Date of issue through biennial renewal term of license category.
    Requirements
    • A completed application for licensure and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of Maine," VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Verification of education;
    • Verification of full dentist licensure in another state or Canadian province; and
    • Leter of recommendation from the employing school.
    Endorsement
    • If you are currently licensed in another state or jurisdiction and are applying for licensure in Maine, you must submit all of the required documentation (as listed above) including information identified in the application instructions.

    Renewal Information

    Term
    • Renews biennially on December 31st even/odd years.
    Late Renewal
    • Licenses can be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration with payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.
    Reinstatement
    • Licenses cannot be renewed beyond 90 days. A separate Reinstatement application must be filed, along with payment of the required fees.
    Renewal Notice
    • Renewal notices will be emailed to the contact information on file at least 60 days prior to the license expiration date. It is required by law that licensees notify the Board of any address or name change within 10 days of the change.
    Requirements
    • Continuing Education: See Board Rules, Chapter 13.
    Renew Now
    • The Board must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before the renewal is processed. Online submission of an application should not be construed as automatic renewal.

Temporary License

  • Description and how to apply +

    Temporary license means an individual is authorized to practice dentistry, dental hygiene, or denturism on a temporary basis for a period of 6 months.

    How to Apply

    Term
    • Issued for six (6) months; non-renewable.
    Requirements
    • A completed application for licensure and payment of the fee (payment may be made in the form of a check or money order payable to Treasurer, State of Maine, VISA or MasterCard - see credit card authorization form);
    • Verification of current or previous dental licenses from other state(s) or Canadian province;
    • Verification of life support certification; and
    • Successful passage of the jurisprudence examination.

Forms

If you cannot find what you are looking for, send an email to the Board of Dental Practice.