Friday, March 29, 2019
Contact: Kristen Muszynski
626-8404/ 441-7638

Special election set to fill District 45 House seat

AUGUSTA – Governor Janet Mills and Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap signed the proclamation Thursday, March 28, 2019, announcing a special election for the Maine House District 45 seat.

The special election is scheduled for Tuesday, June 11, 2019.

This House seat, which covers the Town of Cumberland and part of the Town of Gray, was previously held by Rep. Dale Denno of Cumberland, who resigned his position on March 27, 2019.

Maine’s three political parties, the Democrats, Green Independents and Republicans, will now caucus to choose candidates for the seat. Candidate nominations are due to the Office of the Secretary of State by 5 p.m. on Thursday, April 18.

Non-party candidates must circulate petitions and obtain the signatures of at least 50 registered voters in House District 45. The deadline to submit the petitions to the Secretary of State is by 5 p.m. on Thursday, April 18, after first having the signatures certified by the applicable municipalities. Write-in candidates must declare their candidacy by 5 p.m. on Thursday, April 25. Non-party petition forms and write-in candidate declaration forms may be obtained by contacting the Elections Division of the Secretary of State at 207-624-7650.

The candidate who is elected by the voters in District 45 at the June 11 special election will serve out the remainder of Rep. Denno’s term, through December 2020.