FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Monday, Nov. 27, 2017
Contact: Kristen Schulze Muszynski
office: 626-8404/ cell: 441-7638
Unveiling of State of Maine Bicentennial
Commemorative License Plates set for Dec. 4
AUGUSTA – Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap will unveil the Maine Bicentennial Commemorative License Plate on Monday, the first keepsake item to be offered as the state prepares to celebrate 200 years of statehood in 2020.
The unveiling will take place in the Cultural Building, 230 State St. in Augusta, at 10 a.m. on Monday, Dec. 4. Representatives of the Maine State Cultural Affairs Council will join Sec. Dunlap at the event.
The Maine Bicentennial Commemorative License Plate, designed by the Office of the Secretary of State, depicts the radiant, five-pointed star and Dirigo banner from the Maine State Seal. The design is set against a dark blue background, which matches the State of Maine flag, and the years “1820” and “2020” are displayed on the left and right sides of the star.
Sale of the plate begins December 4, just in time for the holiday season, making it an intriguing gift idea for anyone who wants to show their pride in the Pine Tree State. “The bicentennial is an ideal time to celebrate the State of Maine’s history and its culture,” said Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap. “The radiant star and ‘Dirigo’ motto from our state seal capture the core of our identity, highlighting our tradition in leadership and our bright future.”
The plates are available for purchase beginning Monday, Dec. 4, 2017, for display on motor vehicles from Jan. 1, 2018 through Dec. 31, 2020. Motorists can display the plate on the front of the vehicle only and are advised to store their front license plate in the car during the commemorative plate display period. Plates can also be purchased as wall-hangers or displayed in the rear window of a vehicle.
The cost is $25, most of which is designated to accrue to the Maine State Cultural Affairs Council for its bicentennial initiative. The Council includes the Maine Arts Commission, the Maine Historic Preservation Commission, the Maine Library Commission, the Maine State Museum Commission, the Maine Humanities Council, the Maine Historical Society and the Maine State Archives.
Anyone can purchase a plate, either online at http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/registration/bicen.html or in-person at the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles’ main office or 13 branch offices across the state.
The bicentennial plates are made possible by resolve of the Maine Legislature and are the first in one of many efforts to commemorate the state’s bicentennial, as the Maine Bicentennial Commission is taking shape and will soon begin planning for statewide commemoration events.