Tuesday, Feb. 2, 2016
Contact: Kristen Muszynski
626-8404/ 441-7638

Special election set to fill District 32 Senate seat

AUGUSTA ? A special election for the Maine Senate District 32 seat has been scheduled for Tuesday, March 29, 2016.

The Senate seat, which covers the City of Biddeford and the towns of Alfred, Arundel, Dayton, Kennebunkport and Lyman, was previously held by Sen. David Dutremble of Biddeford, who resigned his position on Jan. 28.

Governor Paul LePage and Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap signed the proclamation announcing the special election on Monday, Feb. 1.

Maine?s three political parties, the Democrats, Green Independents and Republicans, will now caucus to choose candidates for the seat. Candidate nominations are due to the Office of the Secretary of State by 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Feb. 16.

Non-party candidates must circulate petitions and obtain the signatures of at least 200 registered voters in Senate District 32. The deadline to submit the petitions to the Secretary of State is by 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Feb. 16, after first having the signatures certified by the applicable municipalities.? Write-in candidates must declare their candidacy by 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Feb. 23. Non-party petition forms and write-in candidate declaration forms may be obtained by contacting the Elections Division of the Secretary of State at 207-624-7650.

The candidate who is elected by the voters in District 32 at the March 29 special election will serve out the remainder of Sen. Dutremble?s term, through November 2016.