May 5, 2014
Contact: Raphaelle Silver

Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap Announces Winners of 2014 Maine Constitution Essay and Poster Contest

Winning artwork and essays available on-line


AUGUSTA - Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap has announced the names of the winners of the 2014 Maine Constitution Essay and Poster Contest. The contest allows Maine students from grades K through 12 to participate by submitting essays regarding the Maine Constitution, voting and democracy, and posters reflecting Maine symbols or history.

This event highlights the hard work Maine teachers and students do learning about the important touch points of our history and heritage, said Secretary of State Matt Dunlap. Its tough work to judge these, because they are all so good, and reflect the care and commitment students put in to this project.

The essay contest is for students in grades 6 through 12 and is divided into two categories.  The theme for grades 6 through 8 is “The Maine Constitution.”  Hannah Whalen, an eighth grade student at Mountain View School in Sullivan, received top honors in this category for her essay titled “The Rights of a Ordinary Man.”  Placing first in the grades 9 through 12 category based on “The Importance of Voting and Democracy” is Kristen Beal for her essay titled, “Picking the Best.”  Kristen is a tenth grade student at Acadia Christian School in Ellsworth.

The poster contest, open to students from kindergarten to grade 5, is broken into two categories.  For grades K-3 “Maine State Symbols” are the focus.  Second grader Hannah Troiano from Saccarappa School in Westbrook took top honors.  Students in grades 4 and 5 have “Maine History” as a topic.  Fourth grade student, Camden Hom from Holy Cross School in South Portland placed first for his poster depicting the logging industry in Maine.

Winning students and their classes are invited to view the state's original 1820 Constitution at the Maine State Archives in Augusta.

Judges for this year’s contest were Tammy Marks, Records Management Division Director at the Maine State Archives; Diane Johanson, Legislative Aide at the Maine Senate Republican Office; and Brian MacMaster, Investigation Division Chief at the Office of the Maine Attorney General.   

To learn more about the program and view winning entries from this year’s contest, visit the Secretary of State’s website: