May 9, 2013
Contact:  Nicole Ladner

Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap Announces Winners of 2013 Maine Constitution Essay and Poster Contest

Winning artwork and essays available on-line

AUGUSTA - Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap has announced the names of the winners of the 2013 Maine Constitution Essay and Poster Contest. The contest allows Maine students from grades K through 12 to participate by submitting essays regarding the Maine Constitution or voting and democracy, or posters reflecting Maine symbols or history. 

"The work that Maine students submitted for the Essay and Poster Contest was really impressive," said Dunlap. "We were especially gratified that so many were able to participate. The overall quality of the work demonstrates a lot of thoughtful study and reflection by our students with terrific support from great teachers, and convinces me that Maine's future is in good hands."

The essay contest is for students in grades 6 through 12. The theme for grades 6 through 8 is “The Maine Constitution.”  Eighth grader Sarah Pastio of Windsor Elementary School received top honors in this category.  Mary Farnkoff, a ninth grader from Scarborough High School, placed first in the grades 9 through 12 category with her essay based on “The Importance of Voting and Democracy.” 

The poster contest, open to students from Kindergarten to Grade 5, is broken into two age categories. For grades K-3 “Maine State Symbols” are the focus.  Third grader Scout Nasse from Jameson Elementary School in Old Orchard Beach took top honors. For students in grades 4 and 5 the topic is “Maine History”.  Fifth grader Colton Parsons at Ridgeview Community School in Dexter placed first.

Winning students and their class are invited to view the state's original 1820 Constitution at the Maine State Archives in Augusta.

Judges for this year’s contest were Sen. Tom Saviello, R-Wilton, a member of the Legislature’s Environment and Natural Resources Committee, Sen. Emily Cain, D-Orono, of the Appropriations and Financial Affairs Committee, and Rep. Joseph Brooks, U-Winterport, of the Taxation Committee. 

To learn more about the program and view winning entries from this year’s contest, visit the Secretary of State’s website: