September 11, 2013
CONTACT: Matt Dunlap
(207) 626-8400


Kennebunkport Town Clerk April Dufoe Conferred Lorraine M. Fleury Award by Maine Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap

NEWRY, MAINE - The final day of Maine’s two-day Elections Conference for municipal clerks and registrars of voters at Sunday River began with an announcement by Secretary of State Matt Dunlap that Kennebunkport Town clerk and registrar of voters April Dufoe had been selected as the 2013 Lorraine M. Fleury Award recipient.

Each year, the Secretary of State solicits nominations for the award, named for long-time state Elections Director Lorraine M. Fleury.  The award is intended to recognize and honor an individual who has made a significant contribution to the election process and who exemplifies the qualities of fairness, experience, knowledge and service.

?The integrity and efficiency of the election process depends almost entirely on the devotion of municipal officials,? said Secretary Dunlap. ?It?s tough to single folks out, but individuals who carry out their duties with extraordinary energy and commitment are recognized by their peers, neighbors, and many elected officials, who have acknowledged this work with nominations for the Lorraine M. Fleury Award.?

This year’s winner truly embodies the qualities of the award. One of Dufoe’s nominators described her commitment: “Any clerk who submits an election question is guaranteed to receive the answer without delay from April Dufoe…she does not keep her great knowledge to herself. She has been the instructor for Title 30-A through the Maine Municipal Association for years. Anytime she teaches a class, she always offers her email and office number to others who have questions afterwards. Her dedication and integrity make her a valuable asset to her community and a superior role model for her fellow clerks.”

?Maine?s a national leader in the administration of elections,? said Dunlap. ?Committed municipal election officials like April Dufoe are the reason why.?

Past recipients of the Lorraine M. Fleury Award include:

2012 – Yolande (Tody) Justice
2011 – Mary Lou Magno
2010 – Susan Hart
2009 – Nadeen Daniels
2008 – Joan Weeman of Buxton
2007 – Patti Dubois of Bangor
2006 – Irma Bowles of Livermore
2005 – Sue Mooney of South Portland
2004 – Fran Smith of Brunswick
2003 – Gilles Auger of Sanford
2002 – Rhonda Stark of Skowhegan
2001 – Sally Bryant of Brunswick
2000 – Kathleen Montejo of Lewiston
1999 – Debra Lane of Lewiston
1998 – Deborah Cabana of Cape Elizabeth
1997 – Ethelyn Marthia of Kennebunk
1996 – D. Brenda Caldwell of Gorham
1995 – Linda Cohen of Portland                   
1994 – Gerald Berube of Lewiston