April 25, 2012
Contact: Megan Sanborn
(207) 441-0501

Secretary of State Charles E. Summers, Jr. Announces Winners of 2012 Maine Constitution Poster Contest

Winning artwork available online


AUGUSTA - Secretary of State Charles E. Summers, Jr. has announced the names of the winners of the 2012 Maine Constitution Poster Contest. The contest allows Maine students from grades K through 12 to participate by submitting posters or essays reflecting Maine symbols or history, the Maine Constitution or voting and democracy. 

Secretary of State Summers expressed his enthusiasm for the contest, “I think this is an excellent way for students to creatively showcase their knowledge of topics important to our state.  I am very impressed with the great artwork done by all students who participated.”

The poster contest, open to students from Kindergarten to Grade 5, is broken into two age categories. For grades K-3 “Maine State Symbols” are the focus.  Third grader Owen Kelley from Hall-Dale Elementary in Hallowell took top honors. For students in grades 4 and 5 the topic is “Maine History”.  Fifth grader Charles Metcalfe, Kennebunkport Consolidated School, won first place for his poster depicting the Floods of 1936. Due to a limited number of submissions, there were no essay winners this year. Winning students and their class are invited to view the state's original 1820 Constitution at the Maine State Archives in Augusta.

Judges for this year’s contest were: Representative Eleanor Espling, R-New Gloucester, a member of the Legislature’s Inland Fisheries and Wildlife Committee; Lynn Fortin from the Office of Tourism/Maine Film Office; and Paula Benoit, Executive Assistant to the First Lady, Blaine House Residence Director and former Maine State Senator.

To learn more about the program and view winning entries from this year’s contest, visit the Secretary of State’s website: