Megan Sanborn
December 13, 2012

Secretary of State Charles E. Summers, Jr. to Convene Electoral College

Public invited to attend the ceremony in the House Chamber or view streaming video online on Monday, December 17, 2012.

AUGUSTA – Secretary of State Charlie Summers will convene the Electoral College for the State of Maine on Monday, December 17, 2012 at 2:00 p.m., in the Maine House of Representatives Chamber. The Electoral College will conduct the official balloting for the President and Vice President of the United States of America.  The balloting is a public proceeding and the press and public are invited to attend or view the ceremony online at .

The popular vote on November 6, 2012 determined who would serve as Maine 's four Presidential electors.  The electors then convene and vote for the President and Vice President.  A brief explanation of the mechanics of Maine 's Electoral College is available on the Secretary of State's website

This year's Presidential Electors in Maine are:

First District – Diane Denk, Kennebunk
Second District – Marianne Stevens, Kingfield
At-Large – Craig Hickman, Winthrop
At-Large – Jill Duson, Portland

Electors of all 50 states and the District of Columbia will convene on this day in their respective states to cast their ballots. Each state will report its results to the President of the United States Senate, the Archivist of the United States, the Chief Judge of their District Court, and their Secretary of State.  A majority of the 538 electoral votes is required to become President and Vice President.