February 25, 2011
Contact: Charles E. Summers, Jr.

Secretary of State Charles Summers Announces Expansion of Rapid Renewal Service

Residents in the Towns of Bucksport, Orono and Tremont Can Now Renew Vehicle Registrations Online

Augusta — The Towns of Bucksport, Orono and Tremont have recently launched Rapid Renewal, the Department of the Secretary of State's online service for the renewal of motor vehicle registrations. "Residents of Bucksport, Orono and Tremont join the hundreds of thousands of Maine citizens who can renew their vehicle registrations online, at anytime of the day, from the comfort and convenience of their homes or offices; and the town joins a long and still-growing list of Maine communities choosing to provide their residents with the convenience of Rapid Renewal,” stated Secretary of State Summers. “I encourage non-participating towns to follow their lead. As budget-conscious municipal leaders seek new ways to provide efficient and convenient services, I'm confident Rapid Renewal will eventually become available to everyone who wishes to use it.”

Rapid Renewal, a groundbreaking e-commerce service allowing citizens to conduct business with municipal government and state government in one seamless online transaction, has gained national acclaim and has been enthusiastically embraced by Mainers. While municipal participation in Rapid Renewal is optional, the service has now grown to include 150 municipalities, and more than 425,000 transactions have been processed.

The municipalities currently offering Rapid Renewal comprise nearly 70% of Maine's population. The service is being offered by cities and towns from York County to Aroostook County, with populations ranging from Glenwood Plantation's 2 citizens to more than 64,000 in Portland. Through Rapid Renewal, citizens are able to renew their vehicle registrations and pay their municipal excise taxes online, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. It's quick, and it's easy.

Rapid Renewal may be accessed through, the Secretary of State's site for online services.

Municipal officials who would like more information about participating in Rapid Renewal and offering this service to residents in their community may contact the Department of the Secretary of State at 626-8400 or by email at