Training

To become eligible to receive assignments, an attorney must first complete a Commission-sponsored or Commission-approved training in the area(s) of practice for which they want to receive assignments. 

Every rostered attorney must complete 8 hours of Commission-approved CLE courses per year. See Chapter 3 for additional CLE requirements for specialized case types.

Current MCILS Sponsored Trainings

Upcoming Trainings

Above & Beyond: How to Thrive in a Career that Demands all of You

Date: March 16, 2023 from 12:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Host: MCILS & MAP
Credits: 4
Cost: Free
Location: Hybrid (Zoom or the Burton M. Cross Office Building at 111 Sewall Street, 5th Floor, Room 500 in Augusta)
Registration: Registration is free but required.

Civil Commitment Minimum Standards Training 

Date: March 27, 2023 from 8:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Host: MCILS 
Credits: 4.5 (including 1 H&D)
Cost: Free
Location: Hybrid (Zoom or Burton M. Cross Office Building, 111 Sewall St., 5th Floor, Room 500, Augusta)
Registration: Registration is free but required.

Strengthening the Sixth in Maine: Building Client and Courtroom Skills that Scale

Date: March 30-31, 2023 from 8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Host: MCILS & NACDL 
Credits: 12.5
Cost: Free
Location: Penobscot Judicial Center (78 Exchange St., Bangor, ME)
Registration: Registration is free but limited and required. 

Addressing Behavioral Health Needs for Justice Involved Clients: The Role of the State Forensic Service and Mental Health

Date: April 6, 2023 from 12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Host: MCILS 
Credits: 2
Cost: Free
Location: Hybrid (Zoom or 187 State Street, Augusta)
Registration: Registration is free but required.

Maine State Court Access: Disability Accomodations and Best Practices for Working with Interpreters

Date: April 7, 2023 from 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Host: MCILS 
Credits: 1 (H&D)
Cost: Free
Location: Zoom
Registration: Registration is free but required.

Not Criminally Responsible (NCR) Proceedings Minimum Standards Training

Date: April 21, 2023 from 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Host: MCILS 
Credits: 6.5 (including 1 H&D credit)
Cost: Free
Location: Hybrid (Zoom or Burton M. Cross Building, 111 Sewall Street, 5th Floor, Room 500, Augusta)
Registration: Registration is free but required.

Navigating Medical Records

Date: April 27, 2023 from 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Host: Nurses for Social Justice 
Credits: 6.5
Cost: Free
Location: University of Southern Maine, Abromson Community Education Center, 88 Bedford St., Rooms 109-110, Portland, Maine 04101
Registration: Registration is free but limited and required. 

MCILS Approved Trainings

The credits for the approved trainings listed below are approved for MCILS credit, but may not be approved for credit by the Board of Overseers of the Bar.

Upcoming Trainings

MYTC - Learning Exchange Series (Part I)

Date: March 22, 2023 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. 
Host: MYTC
Credits: TBD
Cost: Unknown
Location: Camp Tracy - Main Lodge (302 McGrath Pond Rd., Oakland, ME, 04963)

NAPD Virtual Conference

Date: March 16-18, 2023
Host: NAPD
Credits: 20 MAX (depending on attendance)
Cost: $125
Location: NAPD Platform

York Bar Association - Criminal Law CLE

Date: March 24, 2023 9:15 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Host: York County Bar Association
Credits: 2
Cost: $50-$100 depending on bar association membership
Location: NAPD Platform

Integrating Race, Ethnicity, and Culture (REC) into Forensic Mental Health Assessments

Date: April 14, 2023 from 8:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
Host: State Forensic Service
Credits: 3.75
Cost: Free
Location: Maine Principals’ Association
50 Industrial Dr.
Augusta, ME 04330

MYTC - Learning Exchange Series (Part II)

Date: May 18, 2023 11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. 
Host: MYTC
Credits: TBD
Cost: Unknown
Location: Camp Tracy - Main Lodge (302 McGrath Pond Rd., Oakland, ME, 04963)

Prior Trainings

Please note that the prior approved trainings have been removed from this page. That information can now be found here.