Maine Children’s Cabinet Early Childhood Advisory Council

The Children’s Cabinet Early Childhood Advisory Council (CCECAC) was established by the Maine legislature in the spring of 2019 to advise the newly reinstated Children’s Cabinet.  The CCECAC is focused on the implementation of early childhood policy and programming to support the effective delivery of public and private services and education to young children from birth to 3rd grade in the state.  In addition, the CCECAC serves as the State Advisory Council on Early Childhood Education and Care and in that role, the Council is responsible for ensuring statewide coordination and collaboration among the wide range of early childhood programs and services in the State, including child care, Head Start, IDEA preschool and infants and families’ programs, and pre-kindergarten programs and services.

Members of the Children’s Cabinet Early Childhood Advisory Council:

  1. Two Members of the Maine Senate
    • Senator Matthea Daughtry, Cumberland County, District 24
    • Senator Marianne Moore, Washington County, District 6
  2. Two Members of the House of Representatives
    • Representative Rebecca Millett, Cape Elizabeth, District 30
    • Representative Amanda Collamore, Pittsfield, District 68
  3. The Governor or her designee:
    • Ana Hicks, Policy Director, Governor’s Office of Policy Innovation and the Future
  4. One person representing parents of young children:
    • Janelle Surace, Educare’s Parent Ambassador Program
  5. Two persons with experience in public funding and philanthropy:
    • Jennifer Beck, Senior Program Associate, John T. Gorman Foundation and Chair of the Early Childhood Funders Group
    • Colleen Quint, President and CEO, Alfond Scholarship Foundation
  6. One person representing child abuse and neglect prevention:
    • Dana-Michelle LaPlante, Care Manager, The Aroostook Medical Center
  7. One person representing postsecondary education:
    • Donna Karno, Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education, University of Maine, Farmington
  8. Three persons representing statewide, membership or constituent organizations that advance the well-being of young children and their families:
    • Annie Colaluca, Director of the Enrichment Preschool Program at the Bath Area Family YMCA on behalf of Maine AEYC
    • Sue Powers, Head Start Director at Aroostook County Action Program, Presque Isle on behalf of the Head Start Association
    • Rita Furlow, Maine Children’s Alliance
  9. Two persons representing family child care providers:
    • Chrissie Davis, Bouncing Bubbles Child Care, Skowhegan
    • Sasha Shunk, Shunk Child Care, Portland
  10. One person representing a business roundtable on early childhood investment:
    • Jeremy Fischer, Leadership Team member, Maine Early Learning Investment Group
  11. One person with expertise in children’s health or public health:
    • Dr. Christopher Motyl, DO, Pediatrician, Maine Chapter American Academy of Pediatrics
  12. Two ex officio nonvoting members who are employees of the Department of Education and direct or work in programming that affects young children:
    • Stacie McCoy, Head Start State Collaboration Director, Early Learning Team
    • Nicole Madore, Early Childhood Specialist, Early Learning Team
  13. Two ex officio nonvoting members who are employees of the Department of Health and Human Services and direct or work in programming that affects young children:
    • Tara Williams, Associate Director of Early Childhood Education, Office of Child and Family Services
    • Amy Belisle, Chief Child Health Officer, Commissioner's Office